4 things I loved (last) week…

… plus one I absolutely did not!

March 22-28, 2009

1. this backyard patio.

patio of my dreams
If I was an outside kind of girl, this would be my permanent spot. Alas, I’m not, and so I visit it vicariously. But it looks comfy, no? via desiretoinspire, from Mae Brunken Design
 
2. Penelope Garcia on Criminal Minds This character, darling that she is, always gets the very best lines, and even when she’s frustrated. This week’s episode provided a quote I had to listen to over and over again: “I choose to see the good in people, and getting into someone’s mind and trying to find the god-awful thing that happened to them that made them do the god-awful thing to somebody else has seriously impaired my ability to giggle.” How I do love this show!
 
3. Neal McDonough on Desperate Housewives. Only a beloved actor could make me return to such a show (I gave up after its first season), but McDonough has been such a welcome face on Sunday evenings this season. His character is unhinged — something he plays so. very. well. — and he has shown a range I’ve yet to see in previous projects. It’s been a good year for McDonough, and I hope this exposure will lead to many more TV gigs. He deserves it, and I love seeing him on a weekly basis. Especially when he’s a psychopath.
 
4. knowing the Academy got it right. Anne Hathaway deserved every bit of praise and honor for her performance in Rachel Getting Married. But so did Rosemarie DeWitt as the eponymous sister. Both gave stirring, real performances, as if they had lived a life of sibling strife and were now showing it to the world. A difficult movie for me to watch, but still full of fantastic work.
 
grumble #1. the not-so-lovely feeling when one’s lifeline is severed. On Friday my computer died. In the early a.m. (pre-dawn) hours. With one single click of a mouse, it is stuck in a never-ending loop of start–>winlogon errors–>restart–>logon errors–>restart, and there is simply nothing understandable just yet. Thank God for my current work project that allows me to use a borrowed CPU, but the temporary-ness of that is not lost on me. I suspect I’ll soon be visiting the public library on a regular basis and learning to live without Internet. If this past weekend is any indication, I may find myself completely unsure what to do with all that time. Here’s hoping the computer can be saved. Here’s hoping!

 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 30 March 2009, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!