Spring Readathon 2012 :: And so it begins!

Read-a-Thon bannerThe 24-Hour Readathon traditionally begins with an “Introductory Questionnaire”, so here goes…

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? As always, I’m reading in my flat in the Dallas, Texas region. It’s quite probable that I’ll spend most of these hours stretched across my bed with the window open and a cup of Coca-Cola at arm’s length. Being single with no roommate really helps me stay focused throughout this long day.
     
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Each time I participate in this readathon, there’s always a baseball-themed book in the mix (go figure), so I’m starting off with this spring’s entry, noted below. But in a few hours I’m going to take a break and head to the library to pick up The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor. It was suggested to me just this week and the library is holding it for me. I think that’s the one I’m most anxious to dive into!
     
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? I’ve got sandwiches and some homemade Hamburger Helper and fruit and pastries and lemonade and Coca-Cola. But most of all I’m excited for the Philly Cheesesteak that I picked up last night. It’s not a true Philly cheesesteak, of course, but it’s one of my favorites, nonetheless!
     
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a single gal who still feels 22, despite being, technically, “middle-aged,” and I’m passionate about great stories, be they books or movies or someone’s scrapbook. I’m also a collector of inspiration for all kinds of hand-crafted projects, yet I rarely complete a single one of them. This year I want to change that. Oh… and I’m a sucker for a redhead.
     
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what will you do different today?
    Move around more often when I take breaks; nap when I start to feel weary; and visit other bloggers to cheer them on.
     

And so we begin! First from my stack is The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach…

At Westish College, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for the big leagues until a routine throw goes disastrously off course. In the aftermath of his error, the fates of five people are upended. The Art of Fielding explores relationships – between friends, family, and lovers – and the unpredictable forces that complicate them.

THE ART OF FIELDING by Chad Harbach

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 21 April 2012, in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Still feel 22 despite being, well, not? CHECK.
    Happy readathon to you!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!