Fall Readathon 2012 :: Event Wrap-Up

Read-a-Thon bannerAnd this, my friends, is all she wrote for 2012’s Fall Readathon. This was my most successful event so far – much-improved over spring’s disappointment – and though I’m always so very tired, I’m also fully energized. The freedom to read is such a gift, and each year I’m reminded how important it is to make time for it. I don’t read nearly as much as I should, but I still value it so much. This readathon offered a beautiful opportunity to share the importance of reading with a child, and I’ll always be grateful for the little bit of time that he stuck it out. What I know for sure is that D will keep asking about the next readathon event and will surely want to try again. I can’t wait!

Below are the final tallies for the Dyl, myself, and my best good friend Cerella, who also participated in her first 24 Hour Readathon. We all had varying schedules and levels of success, but I think each of us would agree that it was a very good day to read.

So this is now the official end to my 5th readathon. Looking forward to doing it all over again in the spring! Catch me on Twitter for random pop culture ramblings, and come back to phrenetical later this week for a few book reviews that are now pending. Happy reading!

End-Of-Event Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Though I had to take a 2-hour nap at Hour 10, the toughest moment came in Hour 22 when I made the idiotic decision to attempt an instructional textbook, of all things! It signaled the beginning of the end, for sure.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The best decisions I’ve ever made for readathon were the easy-breezy narratives of John Grisham (this time) and the riveting series of The Hunger Games (October 2011). I saw a tweet during the event that deserves recognition because of its truth: “Every readathon needs The Hunger Games.” It truly makes the time fly!
  3. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? This year I saw a lot of pre-event publicity on Twitter and that allowed me to keep the readathon fresh in my mind. This was much, much better promotion than recent years. Kudos!
  4. How many books did you read? Better time management allowed me to attempt two books this time instead of the one that I typically complete during the event.
  5. What were the names of the books you read? The Associate by John Grisham (completed) and The Writer’s Compass: From Story Map to Finished Draft in 7 Stages by Mary Ellen Dodd (17 pages)
  6. Which book did you enjoy most? The Associate
  7. Which did you enjoy least? It’s not so much that I didn’t enjoy The Writer’s Compass but that I should be far more alert when attempting to read it. 😀
  8. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’m always in for readathon! First and foremost as a reader, but one of these days I’d love to host a mini-challenge. One of these days!

 

banner-dyl
Total Pages Read: 110
Total Time Spent Reading: 1.5 hours
Books Completed and Attempted: (6 completed + 2 more attempted) Curious George Goes To The HospitalThe Cat In The HatAlexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad DayChristina Katerina and the BoxGame DaySnoopy (10 pages completed) ● Go Long! (skimmed)

 

banner-cerella
Total Pages Read: 468
Total Time Spent Reading: 12 hours
Books Completed and Attempted: Alice In Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (completed) ● A Brew To A Kill: A Coffeehouse Mystery (2/3 completed) ● Under Gemini (68 pages completed)

 

banner-nolatari
Total Pages Read: 390
Total Time Spent Reading: almost 12 hours… I think. My previous posts don’t add up like I think they should, but that just means I should never try to do math when sleep-deprived. So I’m saying I read for a total of 12 hours. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!
Books Completed and Attempted: The Associate (completed) ● The Writer’s Compass (dabbled)

sources for the images used in our banners:
Nolatari – tree image, original art by Sesillie Michelle Girelli D’Oyley
The Dyl – fleur-de-lis via logan_x (Creative Commons)
Cerella – “Aspidium” by Alex Ritter

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 14 October 2012, in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally agree about The Hunger Games. Even though I’ve read the series multiple times, it’s still great for a readathon!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

