Fall Readathon 2012 :: Let’s Begin!

Read-a-Thon bannerIt’s time for another full day of reading! I’m sleep-deprived, as usual, and I’m letting the Dyl sleep a little longer (sanity for both of us), but my best good friend Cerella has been reading for who-knows-how-long. We’re 1400 miles apart but today we’ll be connected by simultaneous reading. How cool is that?! This is already turning into my favorite readathon yet!

To make this official, I have completed the Introductory Questionnaire from the official website. I’d love to know if you’re participating in today’s readathon, so drop me a note with your blog address and/or Twitter handle. Even if you’re not reading today, please do check back throughout the day here at phrenetical for updates from me, Cerella, and the Dyl. I’ll also be posting random thoughts on Twitter as things strike me while reading, so follow me there, too.

Wishing everyone a glorious day of reading!
 

Introductory Questionnaire

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? North Central Texas, just up the highway from Dallas
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Though I love me some Grisham, I’m actually pretty excited to dive into SNEAK by Evan Angler. I just finished the first book in the series a couple of days ago, and I’m anxious to know where the story goes from there!
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? I have monster cereals! Hee!
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself! I have a standard tagline that truly describes who I am and what I do: pop culture junkie striving to balance the earthly experience with a heavenly calling. I blog at phrenetical.com about movies, books, music, celebrities, as well as personal stories of being aunt to a niece and three nephews. They are my joy, and the rest is just icing.
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? This is my 5th readathon in a row, beginning in October 2010, and each one has been delightful and worth every minute, but my experience this past April was not quite what I’d hoped. It boiled down to choosing a much-acclaimed novel featuring a subject I love (baseball), only to discover that portions of the narrative irritated me more than it delighted. I was so discouraged, but I also wouldn’t let it go because of the superb writing and beautiful descriptive prose. I kept thinking the whole of the book would be better than some of its parts, but when I finished I felt like I’d wasted a good readathon on a sorry book. But I’ve learned my lesson! Today, if a book doesn’t hit the mark for me, I’m tossing it aside. Readathons are supposed to be FUN!
About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 13 October 2012, in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay for fun books for Readathon! Happy Reading!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

