It’s time for the readathon!

For the past few years I’ve participated in the 24-hour Readathon along with hundreds of other Internet folks around the world, and it’s time for this year’s second cycle. I love these weekends and have long been hoping other friends would participate with me. This time my wish is coming true! On Saturday I’ll be reading all day with my 10-year-old nephew at my side and my best good friend Cerella reading from her home 1,400 miles from me. I’ll be blogging for all three of us, and I’m overjoyed!

As always, before the big event actually begins, here is a look at our reading stacks and (stacks of snacks!) before we all hit the hay for a good night’s sleep. Though my own stack is very small, I expect to read in tandem with the Dyl during his time with me, and I’ll also post updates here on the blog every few hours. I’ve said it many times before, but my great love for the Readathon is just as much for the community aspect as the reading. Having a bit of my own everyday community participating this time just thrills my heart! Check back throughout the day Saturday for updates from all three of us. And be sure to follow me on Twitter, as well. I always take some time to check in throughout the day and night.

My goals are simple this time: read for pleasure and think nothing of how much or how long I’m reading. After the tedium of my April readathon choice, I’m putting no pressure at all on myself. And if I don’t enjoy what I’m reading, I’m ditching it quickly. I don’t do that often, but my last readathon taught me to thinking nothing of it. If it doesn’t strike me, it’s getting tossed aside. No matter how much I might want to like it! To that end I chose John Grisham novels for this weekend. Grisham is pure comfort food for me, and I’ve let his books sit for a few years now so that I’m ready for his easy reading again. I also have an e-book from BookSneeze that I have agreed to review, and since it’s a sequel I made sure to read its predecessor during the past week so that I could jump right into the new one with all the time in the world. Honestly, I’m pretty excited for ALL of my books this time!

readathon - October 2012

SNEAK by Evan Angler ● THE ASSOCIATE by John Grisham ● THE LITIGATORS by John Grisham


 

The Dyl will be keeping track of his reading by stacking his books on my coffee tables. Books TO BE READ are currently at the ready, and as he reads them on Saturday he’ll move each book from the stack to the opposite table marked COMPLETED. D does really well with systems and processes, so this seemed a good way for both of us to keep track. It’ll be fun to see which titles he chooses and in what order. I have no doubt that he’ll also add books to the current stack as the day progresses and his moods change. I have a bookshelf devoted entirely to children’s books, so he has plenty to choose from and many that he’s loved since his earliest memories. I’m using this event to reinforce our habit of reading together (and taking time for reading) that we began during summer’s Camp AJ. The goal for D is not volume or even number of hours but, rather, to continue throughout the day with focus and determination. He chose his own books and he has been excited for this event all month!

readathon - October 2012

THE EDGE by Sigmund Brouwer ● SNOOPY by Charles M. Schulz ● GO LONG! by Ronde and Tiki Barber ● IT’S A DOG’S LIFE, SNOOPY and IT’S A BIG WORLD, CHARLIE BROWN by Charles M. Schulz ● A TREASURY OF CURIOUS GEORGE by Margret and H.A. Rey ● THE CAT IN THE HAT by Dr. Seuss ● IF YOU TAKE A MOUSE TO THE MOVIES by Laura Numeroff ● CHRISTINA KATERINA AND THE BOX by Patricia Lee Gauch ● OUR SOLAR SYSTEM by Seymour Simon ● THE BIG BOOK FOR OUR PLANET (Edited by Durell, George, Paterson) ● ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE UNITED STATES by Judy Bock and Rachel Kranz ● ELOISE by Kay Thompson and Hilary Knight ● GAME DAY by Ronde and Tiki Barber ● MOON ROPE (UN LAZO A LA LUNA) by Lois Ehlert ● ALEXANDER AND THE TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE, NO GOOD, VERY BAD DAY by Judith Viorst


 

readathon - October 2012

Unlike me, Cerella enjoys great variety in her reading, so she worked pretty hard to develop a nice mix for this first readathon event. Where I enjoy starting a book and reading till the end, she likes to switch topics every few hours and refocus her energies. I know this is more in line with the 24-Hour Readathon community, so she’s gonna fit right in!

readathon - October 2012

ALICE IN WONDERLAND and THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS by Lewis Carroll ● UNDER GEMINI by Rosamunde Pilcher ● A BREW TO A KILL: A COFFEEHOUSE MYSTERY by Cleo Coyle ● IMMORTAL by Gillian Shields ● various magazines: Whole Living, Eating Well, Health, YogaNIGELLA KITCHEN by Nigella Lawson ● plus a library to choose from on her Kindle


 

Cerella also has a far better snacking plan than I ever do. If I was a coffee drinker or if I liked popcorn very much, I’d really want to partake in this bounty! But I am definitely intrigued by the Pomegranate Oolong that’s shown in her awesome vignette of foods to read by. It all looks so yummy!

readathon - October 2012

Lots of coffee, Starbucks Via Refreshers in Very Berry Hibiscus and Cool Lime flavors, Harney & Sons tea (including Pomegranate Oolong), Coconut Chips from Trader Joe’s, and stove-topped popcorn seasoned with Archer Farms seasonings. Seriously, can you say “YUM”?


 

By contrast, the Dyl and I like our junk food. There are some apples around – and I’m thinking I’ll try this idea that I saw on Pinterest – but in my excitement over finding Monster cereals to introduce to the boy I totally forgot to take any photos of the healthy items we’ll have at our disposal. D has requested homemade cheeseburger macaroni casserole, as well, but most of our snacking will be chips and cereal and candy, including D’s favorite Halloween treat of candy corn and chocolate. We always need chocolate, right? My requisite Coca-Cola will be consumed, of course, but I also have some drink mixes for us: cherry limeade for Dyl and raspberry lemonade mixed with ginger ale for me. On this particular day, there are no food rules. Ha!

readathon - October 2012

Check back with us on phrenetical.com throughout Saturday and into the wee hours of Sunday morning for complete updates. And please drop us a note! We want to cheer other readers on during the day, too!
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 12 October 2012, in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Fabulous that you’re doing the readathon with family and friends. I love John Grisham – great choice for the readathon, once I start his books I can hardly put them down again. Will follow you on Twitter and be sure to cheer you along on there. Have a great day.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

