this weekend :: Bloggiesta!

BloggiestaAlthough the official first day of Autumn occurred last weekend, my home state of Texas wasn’t quite ready. This week the temps (again) stayed in the high 90s, making it feel far too much like summer will never end for us. Since it’s still too hot for me to care about being outdoors, this weekend is the perfect time to nurture my little blog space and finally tell the stories of Summer 2012. And this weekend just happens to be designated for that very activity!

There’s a little event each year called Bloggiesta where bloggers set aside three days to focus on the pesky Blog To-Do List that seems to pile up while we are busy writing and reading and vacationing and making regular (or irregular) posts. It’s a celebration of blogging and its community, and there are Twitter parties and mini-challenges and opportunities to make new connections. But Bloggiesta is mostly about tackling the little blogging tasks that get swept aside while writing new content and maintaining a blog presence. Despite my lack of initiative in both those areas, I’ve decided to participate anyway. I do have a growing To-Do List for this blog, and I love having a designated time frame in which to accomplish the tasks. I seem to find less distraction when I set aside a weekend for only one goal, so I’m going to give it a try! Hopefully, this weekend will be productive enough to spur me on to finish other incomplete projects that haunt me.

If all goes well this weekend, I hope to post a few outstanding stories and make some minor tweaks to the site design. I’m also developing a plan for an entirely new design and possible restructuring of this blog. Beyond that, I honestly don’t know what will come out of the weekend. But that’s always my favorite part of any creative endeavor.

If you happen to drop by September 28-30, leave a little note to let me know. I’m always looking for new blogs to follow, so feel free to suggest one or two. And if you’re also participating in Bloggiesta, let me know so I can check in with you! The community is always the best part of any blog event.

More to come as the weekend progresses! Olé!

Bloggiesta is a weekend event for bloggers “to focus on those small tasks that fall by the wayside during busy times” and connect with bloggers old and new. Learn more about this year’s event at There’s a Book, and sign up to join us.

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 28 September 2012, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

