FROM THE VAULT :: the best advice I ever received

10-year retrospectiveThis month I’m looking back over the past 10 years of blogging to repost some of the entries that help chronicle a decade of public writing as well as reflect who I was then and who I (still) am now. A lot has changed, yet a great deal has yet to evolve, and so I am reflecting on these things without judgement or regret. Thanks for walking through it with me.


originally posted on Mother’s Day 2010
 
The best advice I ever received came from my mother during an especially challenging and personally unsatisfying period in which an employer was a source of constant grief:
 

Everything you’re
 

going through
 

is building
 

character
 

in you.
 

It was a light bulb moment for an almost-thirty-year-old who had only recently returned to her faith and was desiring excellence and a deeper relationship with Jesus. I think this may have also been the exact moment I realized the excellence of my mother, how she had always been good and strong and wise despite my inability to recognize it. Even then, it would still be many years before I understood the depth of my mother’s love and the sacrifices she makes for her family… and for me, especially. But we’ve been building a friendship ever since, and I’ve never forgotten her sage words on that day. Whenever I experience something particularly challenging or stressful, and especially when I cannot understand the why of a situation or a person’s behavior, I remember those words from my mother. Every moment in life is building character in me.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 3 May 2012, in People I Love, Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

