read-a-thon recap :: entering the final hour

read-a-thon bannerAs the final hour of the 24-hour Read-a-Thon approaches I am still entrenched in the world of Panem, following closely as Katniss Everdeen leads me to the captivating conclusion of The Hunger Games trilogy. I’ve not been able to put the books down since beginning yesterday afternoon, and though I’ll not complete it within the next hour, I can hardly contain myself as I breeze through the pages of Mockingjay. I completely underestimated this series – a negative side effect of some short-sighted publisher who chose to release the books under the heading of “Young Adult” (it is so not a young adult novel but rather features a few young adults as the main characters, which is completely not the same thing) – and as I begin the final third of the concluding book, I am somewhat wrecked by the emotional roller coaster that it has been. All because the author was able to place me squarely and firmly into the mind of her protagonist, Katniss. I have been Katniss for the past 17 hours straight! And I don’t know if I can release her any time soon.

These are the numbers from my third read-a-thon:

 
735 Minutes Spent Reading (not blogging)
351 Pages Read
 
1/3 + 2/3 Books Completed: Part III of Catching Fire and Parts I and II of Mockingjay
 
3 Books Attempted: I tried a quick change of pace after completing Catching Fire, but even a collection of short stories couldn’t distract me. I simply had to jump right back in and see how the story continued.
 
22 Tweets
5 Blog Posts Published
80 Blog Views During The Event
9 Comments Received On My Blog
4 New Twitter Followers
 
Snacks/Meals Consumed: first there were giant flaky biscuits and Froot Loops, then Cheetos, then corn dogs and Twinkies, then more biscuits when I wasn’t even hungry, and lots and lots of Coca-Cola to wash it all down. Pure junk, as it should be. πŸ™‚

And now I return to the final chapters of Mockingjay. You should expect a review of the complete series sometime later this week. I seriously need to talk about these books!

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 23 October 2011, in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It was so great to check in from work on my breaks to see your updates on the read-a-thon! I love that you fell so much into Katniss’s story, as I did. LOVE those books!! One of these days, I need to clear my calendar so I can participate in the read-a-thon as well! LMK the dates of the next one. πŸ™‚

    Cerella
    http://www.cerellasechrist.com

    Like

  2. You make this sound like it’s as much fun as I’m sure it will be! I signed up to read and cheer this year and I’m really excited!!! πŸ˜€

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

