read-a-thon update :: Mid-Event Survey

readingThis past hour was the midway point of the 2011 Fall Read-a-Thon, and I’m currently between books so it’s a great time to complete the Mid-Event Survey!

  1. What are you reading right now? I’ve just begun the final book of Suzanne Collins’s Hunger Games Trilogy, namely Mockingjay. I tried to switch things up a bit after completing Book Two, but all I could think about was Peeta and the Panem Revolution, so I’m just diving straight in to finish the series.
     
  2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve only actually read 1/3 of one book so far (approximately 80 pages, I think), and though I’m doing my best to stay focused there has been one little interruption after another during the past three hours. Boy, am I ready to just stay with it for a while!
     
  3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? MOCKINGJAY!
     
  4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? In that I live alone there were no arrangements to be made for the day, although I did make sure to mention the read-a-thon on my blog and to my family, and the usual stream of text messages has been surprisingly absent today. I guess everyone is just leaving me to my books!
     
  5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I’ve interrupted myself a few times today for snacks, to heat up a couple of things in the oven, and for regular stretching/bathroom breaks. But there was also one giant interruption that took an hour out of my day: a clogged toilet. Besides the extreme “Ewwwwww…” factor, I ended up having to clean up, sop up, and mop up the bathroom before anything else could be done. And then things had to be laundered after that, and I spent a good fifteen minutes or more just trying to soap up my hands enough to feel clean again. Seriously… Ewwwwww! Thankfully, it’s all good and no plumbers had to be called.
     
  6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? I’m always surprised at the sheer dedication of cheerleaders to visit and comment on blogs (and on Twitter!), without fail. I’ve received more comments this (my third) read-a-thon than ever before, and that’s so very cool given that I couldn’t even get started until 7 hours in! You cheer people are awesome!
     
  7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? My only suggestion would be more advance publicity. Each year it seems I don’t hear much about the read-a-thon until just a couple of weeks before it begins, and then I see person after person on Twitter lamenting the fact that they didn’t know it was happening. So, I wonder how we who participate each and every time could help spread the word earlier in the fall and spring so that more people can make plans to participate? Food for thought.
     
  8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Well, the obvious change would be to actually be able to start on time and have a full 24 hours to participate. Beyond that, I always wonder what types of books I could read that would give me a list of completed reads rather than the one complete book I always end up with. I never feel as “well-read” as other read-a-thon participants, even after reading for 18-20 hours straight. 😦
     
  9. Are you getting tired yet? Because I’m a night owl (and because I’ve had chronic insomnia all year), I can tell that my body isn’t the least bit weary yet. That probably means I’ll still be awake at the end of the 24-hour period. Which also means I’ll be a glassy-eyed worshipper at church in the morning. But, it’s all for a good cause, right?!
     
  10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I never have any tips other than telling people to read what you really want to read rather than reading for volume or for page count. The only thing that keeps me going through the wee hours is having a book that is so compelling I wouldn’t dream of putting it down in order to sleep.

So there you have it! My mid-event recap. I’m heading back in to join Katniss and Gale (swoon… Gale…), but remember that you can follow my progress (and see all of the snarky and exclamatory comments I like to make throughout any given day) by visiting me at Twitter and Facebook. And I’ll be return to this blog later with yet another update and/or mini-challenge. Happy reading to all!
 
image found on Pinterest

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 22 October 2011, in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. R! E! A! D!
    Any book that you can see!

    I envy you for getting to read the Hunger Games trilogy for a readathon — how cool!! I’m also impressed you’ll most likely make it the full 24 hours. I rarely make it past hour 19 or 20. Have a great time with the rest of the event!!

    Like

  2. I love reading your thoughts here! So many good points and poor you with a clogged toilet during the readathon!

    And good choice on jumping right into Mockingjay! What a great book to keep you awake…and possibly crying…through the wee hours!

    *\o/*

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

