Life is hard. Faith is harder.

Today’s post was excerpted from a devotional message by Cerella D. Sechrist, author of Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania

LORD, hear my prayer,
   listen to my cry for mercy;
in your faithfulness and righteousness
   come to my relief.
Do not bring your servant into judgment,
   for no one living is righteous before you.
The enemy pursues me,
   he crushes me to the ground;
he makes me dwell in the darkness
   like those long dead.
So my spirit grows faint within me;
   my heart within me is dismayed.
                              — Psalm 143: 1-4

There are days when my soul aches. The kind of bone-deep weariness that settles sharp and unrelenting in the most hollow parts of my spirit, and I echo the psalmist’s cry for relief, for mercy, for a moment – just one moment – filled with something other than utter despair.

Life is hard. Faith is harder.

But the one thing I count on when my “spirit grows faint within me” is that God is a God of promise. He takes vows seriously, our God does – not words to be uttered frivolously nor oaths lightly kept. I’m staking my very existence on the belief that God doesn’t quit. So even when the world is at its darkest, and mankind’s savior lies lifeless within a tomb, God’s promise of resurrection says the dawn is coming to wash away all decay and despair.

That’s a faith work keeping, even when it’s difficult.
 

Sunday's comin'Be sure to visit The Cerella Life to read Cerella’s complete devotional post.

Posted on 23 April 2011, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

