my (failed) attempts to photograph the lunar eclipse

Since I was already awake during last night’s lunar eclipse, I decided to attempt a photo or two. Unfortunately, clouds plagued us throughout the event and I was only able to view it a few times but never able to snap a photo. It was quite the sight, though. An awesome red-tinged orb hanging alone in the sky, its surface visible under the red hue. I’ve never seen anything like it! And I tried and tried to get one decent photo, to the point where I even spent some time lying on the ground waiting for the clouds to dissipate. Thankfully, the night was fairly warm here, and with slippers on my feet and a hooded jacket covering my head, it was comfortable enough. Until a police car pulled up and interrupted the entire scene. Our “conversation” went something like this:

“What are you doing out here?”
      “Watching the lunar eclipse.”
“Why are you in the middle of the road?”
      (ahem… “middle”)”Well, this is the best view.”
“Why don’t you get on the sidewalk?”
      “The view isn’t as good.”
“It’s exactly the same on the sidewalk.”
      “No, it’s not the same angle.”
“It’s exactly the same.”
      “No, sir. It’s not.”
“Yes, it is. It’s exactly the same.”
      (silence from me)
“You can’t stay here. If I hadn’t been paying attention I would’ve run over you.”

There were a few things I didn’t say, including but not limited to:
      “Do you think I’d be lying on the ground if the view was the same over there?”
      “I’m in front of my own car, completely outside the lane of traffic.”
      “Do you often drive without paying attention?”

I didn’t say any of those things, of course. I simply stood up in the same spot I had been before and watched the sky from my feet. But I never did get that photo.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 21 December 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So this remark doesn’t apply to all of our public servants, but I’ve found that several of them take great pride in being difficult. It’s almost a game to them. Put them in a uniform and give them a badge, and that “John Wayne” Bravado that your so fond of comes to the surface. And of course there are those who do their job well and know how to apply logic to everyday situations. Obviously, you did not encounter one of those last night.

    Like

  2. Ohhh, how one must suffer for their art. So misunderstood. 🙂

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

