reverb10 :: Beautifully Different.

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different — you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

reverb10“Beautiful” has always been a difficult word for me to apply to myself. I know it in my heart; I believe what God has told me about being wonderfully made. But the world around me doesn’t encourage me, so the word beautiful is not what comes to mind when I look in the mirror. But I do know myself well and I know the things that make me unique and special. And I can see my own valuable qualities, whether anyone else sees them or not. I’m proud of the person I’ve become and of my character at this point in my life — especially because I’ve come so far in the thirteen years since making a 180 turnaround.

Recently I was directed to a survey by the University of Pennsylvania that measures character strengths, and when my results were tallied it turned out to be one of the most accurate and telling lists that I’ve ever seen compiled about myself. And when I saw this reverb question my mind returned to that list. These are the very things that make me beautiful and different. These are the things that draw people to me. And I’m very proud to be this girl.

my top 11 (of 24) character strengths, ranked in order from greatest to lesser. I love that my mid-range strengths (those further down this list) are just as evident in me as the ones ranked in the top five.
 
Strength #1: Appreciation of Beauty and Excellence
I notice and appreciate beauty, excellence, and skilled performance in all domains of life, from nature to art to mathematics to science to everyday experience.
 
Strength #2: Capacity to Love and Be Loved
I value close relations with others, in particular those in which sharing and caring are reciprocated. The people to whom I feel most close are the same people who feel most close to me.
 
Strength #3: Gratitude
I am aware of the good things that happen to me and never take them for granted. My friends and family members know that I am a grateful person because I always take the time to express my thanks. [Note: I do hope this is true!]
 
Strength #4: Curiosity and Interest in the World
I am curious about everything. I am always asking questions and find all subjects and topics fascinating. I like exploration and discovery.
 
Strength #5: Spirituality, Sense of Purpose, and Faith
I have strong and coherent beliefs about the higher purpose and meaning of the universe. I know where I fit in the larger scheme. My beliefs shape my actions and are a source of comfort to me.
 
Strength #6: Humor and Playfulness
I like to laugh and tease. Bringing smiles to other people is important to me. I try to see the light side of all situations.
 
Strength #7: Judgment, Critical Thinking, and Open-Mindedness
Thinking things through and examining them from all sides are important aspects of who I am. I do not jump to conclusions, and I rely only on solid evidence to make decisions. I am able to change my mind.
 
Strength #8: Fairness, Equity, and Justice
Treating all people fairly is one of my abiding principles. I do not let personal feelings bias my decisions about other people. I give everyone a chance.
 
Strength #9: Forgiveness and Mercy
I forgive those who have done me wrong. I always give people a second chance. My guiding principle is mercy and not revenge.
 
Strength #10: Kindness and Generosity
I am kind and generous to others and never too busy to do a favor. I enjoy doing good deeds for others, even if I do not know them well.
 
Strength #11: Love of Learning
I love learning new things, whether in a class or on my own. I have always loved school, reading, and museums — anywhere and everywhere there is an opportunity to learn.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 19 December 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a lovely list this turned out to be! One of the best yet. 🙂

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

