one word to sum up 2010

reverb10One word to sum up the year. That’s the challenge of reverb‘s Day One prompt: “Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?” Each year in January, my constant inspiration Ali Edwards posts the same challenge for the year ahead, but I rarely consider that same word when looking back. In fact, I realize that I’ve rarely considered my one little word(s) at all since I began participating. Sure, it comes to mind from time to time. I have passing thoughts about how little I’m reflecting on it throughout the busyness of the weeks and months within the year. But I’ve never truly reflected. The truth is, I don’t enjoy the reflection because it brings with it a guilt of how another year has passed without any action on my part. And I find myself here again, at the end of yet another year, with nothing good to report.

I initially chose SAIL as my word for 2010. But as I reflect back upon the months since then I realize I’ve done nothing of the sort. I’m sure an argument could be made that I have sailed through the difficulties and unexpected circumstances, but as I ponder it I’m more apt to say “docked.” In fact, I’m more inclined to say “shipwrecked” than anything else along the nautical line of thought. I’ve felt stuck, stagnant, still for quite some time. Yes, much of my own doing, but stagnant nonetheless. But what an ugly word to sum up a year!

It could be worse, I suppose. The thesaurus suggests “moribund” as an alternative: dying, expiring, not long for this world. Sheesh. I certainly don’t want to take it that far! But “lethargic” rings true. “Stationary” is appropriate, as well. And “dormant.” Dormant seems the best word. And dormant brings with it a HOPE. It brings to mind that beloved caterpillar, lying still and lifeless in its warm cocoon, just waiting for spring’s breezes to crack open the outer layer so it can break through with its butterfly wings. Yes… I like dormant. 2010 has been dormant. And looking forward, one year from now, what word do I hope to use in describing 2011? I think it could be as simple as “Walk” or “Move” or even “Persevere.” Some sort of action is all I’m hoping for, all I’m planning to do. That alone will vastly improve upon this difficult 2010.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 1 December 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Alana in Canada

    Thanks for the honesty. Funny, I was thinking of the caterpillar/butterfly metaphor a split sentence before you mentioned it.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

