Read-A-Thon Mid-Event Update

Despite my best efforts, less than 10 hours sleep over two days finally caught up with me and I had to check out for a bit of a nap before diving in full force to the reading. But I’m now rejuvenated and prepared for the long stretch into the night. Thankfully, I have managed to get some reading time in throughout the course of the day, so it’s not been a total loss. And I returned to the blog to find a series of terrific cheers to keep me going! Thanks to all of you for much-needed encouragement.
 
Mid-Event Survey: (via Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon headquarters)
 
1. What are you reading right now?
Ford County by John Grisham and The Yankee Years by Joe Torre
 
2. How many books have you read so far?
Sadly, it’s been sporadic, but I did manage to complete two Entertainment Weekly issues and another short story in Ford County
 
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
So happy to get back into The Yankee Years in honor of tonight’s (hopefully clinching) game of the ALDS.
 
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?
To the best of my ability, but that still only turned out to be half the event. 😦
 
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
What to do? Best to roll with the punches and do the best you can in the next hour, right?
 
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
I was pleasantly surprised to see a day full of comments when I finally managed to make it back online for the postings. So cool!
 
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Since this is my first event, I can’t say there’s much to suggest.
 
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year
If possible, I’d like to be able to participate all day long, just to see if my stamina would hold out.
 
9. Are you getting tired yet? hee hee (see opening paragraph)
 
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I’m just enjoying all the tips from others!
 
About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 9 October 2010, in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. midnightbookgirl

    North to South
    and East to West
    Readathon Readers
    Are the Best!
    Sea to Sea
    and Coast to Coast,
    Readathon Readers
    have Read the Most!

    Like

  2. 1, 2, 3, 4
    Hope your book isn’t a bore
    5, 6, 7, 8
    And your readathon is going great!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

