September Listography | Day Twenty-Two

August sunset
Today’s list celebrates the first day of Autumn, using a little quiz I first saw at this joy+ride. You’ll see this list again on the first day of each new season. I think it’s the perfect way to chronicle the quarterly marks of my years.
 
on the nightstand: The Yankee Years by Joe Torre, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, The Film Snob’s Dictionary by David Kamp, Ford County by John Grisham, and You Couldn’t Ignore Me If You Tried: The Brat Pack, John Hughes, and Their Impact on a Generation by Susannah Gora /// I’ve read through several chapters of the first three on the list, while the last two are soon to be read. I hope to make it through a large chunk of these when I participate in my first 24-hour Read-a-Thon next month.
 
i am loving: the break from 100+ degree temps that we saw all summer, though I’m ready ready ready for 60s and 70s
 
how does autumn inspire? the cool temps make me feel more alive and less brain-dead, so autumn truly begins my creative streaks. I’ll begin thinking toward Christmas and what kinds of things I can create for those I love. I just might finally tackle the dreaded closet organization, too. But you probably shouldn’t hold your breath for that one.
 
one item in my autumn wardrobe I can’t go without: not being much for clothes in general — well, what I mean is, not being much for fashion… ha ha ha!! — clothes don’t generally matter all that much to me until sweater weather. A Texas autumn truly doesn’t change things too much, so my clothing doesn’t change too much either. There are opportunities for longer sleeves, which I appreciate, but beyond that it’s much the same as summer. People still wear shorts and sandals into November, some years. So for me, I suppose my only required autumn attire are long skirts that can still be worn with sandals or mules but don’t make me unhappy to be wearing a nylon slip underneath.
 
the perfect autumn meal: now this is where I do begin to care. I love warm foods much more than cold, so I’m always happy when soup weather begins. My perfect autumn meal is a rich, creamy soup or stew with cornbread. That makes me happy.
 
three constants in my current days: right now I’m still seeking new employment, so my days are pretty standard and all spent at home. I do look forward to cooler weather so I’ll feel comfortable getting some exercise with afternoon/evening walks, but most of my days have been pretty much the same for months: hours on the computer (applying for jobs, reading/writing blog entries, working on a creative project or two), scrounging whatever food can be found that doesn’t require heating up the flat with an oven, and the constant background noise of the television (sometimes satellite music, oftentimes a series of recordings from the DVR).
 
the story behind today’s photo: the photo was taken at Kiwi’s 16th birthday party at the lake, a couple of hours before sunset but just when the sun was trying to peek through the pleasantly overcast sky. I spent a good hour standing at the edge of the water snapping photos of the kids playing, of the skiers on the water, of the incredible clouds above me… all the while letting the cool water lap up onto my ankles. It just may have been the most perfect moment of my summer. It was definitely a rare occurrence for me.
 


My Listography was inspired by the site of the same name and by list-maker extraordinaire Andrea at hulaseventy

 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 22 September 2010, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

