This Week I Love… Feedly and Evernote

I’m always a big fan of websites that make my daily routines easier, and anything that is also more aesthetically pleasing is a winner in my book. This week I’ve discovered one new site that does both of those things, and I am loving a second program more than ever before due to one small plug-in on my browser. When everything comes together and “clicks” with very little addition to a routine, there’s not much more I could ask of technology.
 
Feedly is a magazine-style RSS reader that integrates with both Google Reader and Twitter. I was introduced to it last weekend through Molly of The Bumbles Blog (home to the Monday Movie Meme), when she made reference to her method for keeping up with hundreds of blogs per month. As I, too, attempt to do that, I decided to try her method of assigning each blog a day of the week rather than trying to read them scattershot, based on mood. When she also referenced Feedly for its great design, I knew I was hooked. So now, instead of this:
 
Google Reader
 
I’m looking at this (click to enlarge):
 
Feedly
 
And I’m attempting to read blogs a little at a time throughout the week. We’ll see how it goes!
 
 
As I’m reading all of these blogs and visiting all of these sites, I often find stuff I want to keep on hand for later use: blog topics, creative projects, instructional documents, recipes, gift ideas, travel information, and the list goes on. For years I’ve been copying this info into Word documents and filing them on my hard drive, as well as collecting an enormous amount of bookmarks that just sit in folders awaiting review. But then I discovered Evernote and began using it for all this doc collecting. And now I’ve found Evernote’s Web Clipper, and suddenly everything is easily filed with automatic syncing to an online storage site, as well. Genius!
 
Step One: highlight the text you want to keep from a web page or blog entry
 
Feedly
 
 
FeedlyStep Two: click the web clipper button on the browser toolbar (it looks like an elephant’s head in profile)
 
 
Step Three: tweak the note that appears in Evernote. That’s it! The source URL is automatically included in the new note, and I can add tags for ease of searching in the future. So simple! And, oh, how I love it.
 
Feedly
click images to enlarge
 
 
About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 17 September 2010, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well, now you’ve done it. After two posts on Evernote, I suppose I’m going to have to sign up and check it out. 🙂

    I’m also liking the look of Feedly. I may have to check that one out, too.

    I don’t know whether to thank you for making my life easier or curse you for giving me one more obsession. =p lol!

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

