September Listography | Day Fifteen

 

movie homes I’d like to live in for a while
 
1.  Karen Blixen’s home in Out of Africa

Out of Africa
 

2.  Mr. Darcy’s estate of Pemberley in Pride & Prejudice, where I would spend every afternoon in the alabaster sculpture room

Pride & Prejudice
 
Pride & Prejudice
 

3.  Craig’s Hut on Mount Stirling, Australia, seen in The Man From Snowy River

The Man From Snowy River
 

4.  Blake beach house in Message in a Bottle

Message in a Bottle
 

5.  Christian’s Paris apartment across from the Moulin Rouge

Moulin Rouge
 

6.  The elvish realms of Rivendell and then Lothlórien from Lord of the Rings

Fellowship of the Ring
 
The Two Towers
 

7.  The Cain Family’s New York City apartment from TV series Kidnapped

Kidnapped
 

8.  Kathleen Kelly’s brownstone in You’ve Got Mail

You've Got Mail

 


My Listography was inspired by the site of the same name and by list-maker extraordinaire Andrea at hulaseventy

 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 15 September 2010, in Lists I Keep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Off the top of my head – two of mine would be the Swiss Family Robinson treehouse from Disney’s Swiss Family Robinson with John Mills…and the old Victorian House from Practical Magic, complete with conservatory and beautiful kitchen!! Love this list, too!!

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

    • The hardest part of compiling a list like this is trying to remember all the places you’ve ever loved! So mine are also just top-of-my-head choices. I also considered including Liev Schreiber’s apartment in Kate & Leopold and Jason Bourne’s Paris apartment, but I had to stop somewhere. When I was searching for photos to include in the post, I kept coming across the house from Practical Magic. Obviously that’s a popular choice all around!

      Like

  2. I’ve seen a lot of blog posts lately on the Practical Magic house… I fell in love with that one from the moment I saw the conservatory. Although Sandra Bullock’s botanical shop in town is a place I’d live as well! Even if it isn’t technically a home! lol

    I would happily live JUST in the sculpture room at Pemberly should Darcy allow me, btw. It would be akin to getting stuck in a museum overnight. 😀

    You’ve really got me thinking on this one. I may do a The Five post on it… 🙂

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

  3. Yes to Rivendell! But I would choose Gaius Baltar’s crib from BSG, too!. And Jasper’s place from Children of Men.

    Like

  4. So I’ve been to the real “Out of Africa” house and it is tiny compared to the movie version!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

