LOVE FINDS YOU IN HERSHEY, PENNSYLVANIA


Genre: Inspirational Fiction
ISBN: 1935416642
Acquired:
I received my copy from the author, but I would have happily purchased it anyway!
Completed Reading:
March 2010
Overall Rating:
Nine out of ten
Many moons ago I completed this novel, the debut by author Cerella D. Sechrist, but just realized how neglectful I’ve been in posting my thoughts. My omission has nothing at all to do with my enjoyment of the book but rather about the stuff of life and time and general management of priorities. But I correct that error today and hope this serves to spark renewed interest in this delightful novel.

The story revolves around former tv chef Sadie Spencer, who has rebuilt her life in hometown Hershey, Pennsylvania, by establishing a successful restaurant and raising her 5-year-old daughter with daily assistance from lifelong best friend Jasper. Life seems to be running smoothly for Sadie until a mysterious newcomer begins to patron her café and then word reaches Sadie that he has purchased property across the street. Suddenly Sadie is set on a course of worry, fear for her business, intense competition, and an unexpected romance thrown into the mix. And Sadie is never her best when life turns upside down. But the story is also the most enjoyable when Sadie’s in a tailspin.

As a rule, I’m not a fan of inspirational fiction nor typical romantic comedy, but Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania expertly transcends the stereotypes of both genres. It is engaging from start to finish, the characters are just like people I’ve known in my life, and the situations that Sadie encounters are fully believable and often hilarious. Even the two or three scenes that serve simply to further the plot do not seem forced or the least bit preposterous. And this is one of the only books I’ve read from these genres that can make that claim. I never wanted to put the book down, yet I never wanted the story to end. When I did complete the book, I immediately wanted to read more about many of the characters. For me, that’s the highest compliment for a novel and a writer.

I’m still not sold on inspirational fiction or general romantic comedies, but reading Hershey did make me wonder about other titles in the Love Finds You series from Summerside Press. If they are as rich in character as this one, I look forward to exploring more of them. I’m certain I’ll follow Cerella’s career. She’s a truly gifted author, and no matter what types of novels she creates, I know they will have compelling stories with fascinating and relatable characters. Which is all I really need in a book. Congratulations, C! You’re off to a great start!

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 14 September 2010, in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

