from the vault ~ BLEACHERS by John Grisham

Because the thing I loved the most this week was Friday Night Lights it seems appropriate to repost my thoughts on John Grisham’s novel dealing with the same topic. I even reference that title itself in my commentary. As I reread my thoughts on this book I had the same emotional response as when I first wrote the words. Bleachers holds up for me, and I still recommend it to everyone. It’s not often that can be said seven years later.
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

BLEACHERS by John Grishamoriginally posted September 20, 2003
 
Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 0385511612
Place of Purchase: Hastings Books
Reading Began: September 2003
 
Overall rating: Six out of ten

Recommendation to others: If you’re a fan of John Grisham, or a fan of the Friday Night Lights of football in the South, you’ll really like this book.

Why I chose to read this book: I’ll read anything Grisham writes, of course, but I also have some relation to this book’s subject matter. Though I’m not a fan of the game of football, I have been surrounded by this world my entire life. There’s just nothing else in the world like high school football in the Southern States, and Grisham has captured those feelings and situations perfectly.

Further reading by this author: For this type of story, this kind of ambience, I’d suggest A Painted House.

Comments: I took solace in knowing that this book was a quick read, truly believing I would find it slightly enjoyable but that it would make no impact on me. About halfway into the story I was suggesting it to members of my family. Grisham shares his love for high school football in an open and honest way that drew me to the characters and even excited me in the “play-by-play” of the games mentioned in the story. I could almost hear the roar of the crowd.

I was honestly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. The characters are somewhat stereotypical of the small-town South, but even then I found that they added a spirit of truth to the book. I know these people, I know their town. And living through their experiences was a delight. I’ve actually found a little piece of my heart opened up for Texas high school football. And that says a lot!

 
 


About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 11 September 2010, in What I Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh Mylanta, it’s been too long since you’ve had a book review on this blog! Even though it’s not my cup of tea, I loved reading this! 😀

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

    • That’s the beauty of this particular Grisham. You don’t have to care one bit or understand one thing about football (I didn’t!) and it’s still a great story of returning to your roots and trying to make sense of your past. You should read this anyway. It’ll take you like, 3 hours, tops! 🙂 [And yes, too long since a book post. I hope to change that in the next year!]

      Like

  2. I just finished reading “Bleachers” by John Grisham and would recommend it to anyone whether you really like football or not. For those of you who have played a few downs or many years of football you will feel right at home reading this book and may even find yourself lost in a time in which you also lived much of the same times as John relates.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

