a Saturday list

 

1. I woke up at 5:35 this morning.
 
2. I was dreaming of carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. I’m not even sure I like carrot cake but now I won’t be able to release the thought until I have some. Stupid subconscious.
 
3. I blame this dream on Food Network’s Cupcake Wars. Stupid Food Network.
 
4. I can’t bring myself to say “Stupid cupcakes.” That’s just wrong.
 
Saturday morning hair5. My hair is so bushy long now that I can stretch it into a tiny little ball on the back of my head.
 
6. This is not a good thing.
 
7. Although it is cooler, and that makes me less cranky.
 
8. All the white streaks I see in this photo make me more cranky. If you click the photo you can see the white streaks.
 
9. You don’t have to click the photo.
 
10. Stupid middle age.
 
11. Today is Paul Newman day on Turner Classic Movies. There goes my entire day.
 
12. Stupid TCM.
 
13. Not really. I love TCM. And Paul Newman. And Robert Redford.
 
14. The Sting is airing tonight.
 
15. There goes my night.
 
16. I compiled a new iPod playlist this week as a soundtrack to a story I’ve been developing for my girl Cerella. I don’t know if she’ll love the music as much as me, but she’ll love the emotional journey of it. We’re in sync like that.
 
17. There was a Christmas tree in my carrot cake dream last night.
 
18. There’s a Christmas tree in the Paul Newman movie on TCM right now. Coincidence? I think not!
 
19. Maybe if I keep dreaming of Christmas trees it will make the days seem cooler. It’s 7:58 in the morning and the temperature is 83 degrees. It will be at least 104° for a few days this week. It’s been that high for most of the month. But by week’s end they’re predicting highs of only 95°.
 
20. In Texas during August, that’s practically a cool front.
 
21. Ponder that for a moment.
 
22. And then reread number 11 and number 15.
 
23. Makes more sense now, doesn’t it?
 

 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 21 August 2010, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well, of COURSE I clicked the picture. Don’t put it out there if you don’t want the follow through. 🙂 Your hair looks adorable in this little mini-ponytail though.

    So I’m thinking you need a story scene on Christmas eve, with the characters watching some classic Christmas film (like your own beloved It’s a Wonderful Life?) and then you can create an iPod playlist for that too. YAY!!

    It’s a good thing Caleb’s home visiting or I’d probably be spending the day with Paul Newman as well. 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

