retro photo month :: day thirty-one

 

I’ve always been a fan of wearing hats.
 

Easter bonnet teeter totter tricycle favorite chair
Grandpa's hat Easter cowboy hat
hunting cap straw hat
Chicago Cubs St. Louis plaid cap New York Yankees

Now, there is a story behind the larger photo in the center, of course. It was taken in 1986, I think — check that Miami Vice jacket with pushed-up sleeves! — and I had already begun my descent into depression, as well as the phase of my life when I resisted church and continually butted heads with my dad. It was Easter Sunday in this photo and we all embraced Southern tradition that year by wearing hats to church, but our morning did not allow time for photos, so we gathered before lunch to document the occasion. I wasn’t thrilled in the first place, but the look on my face when Mom snapped the shot was a direct result of having my hat fly off and straight into the water of the bird bath just moments before. That I was then told the photo still had to be taken and I must put that hat back on my head… well, you can see the response on my face. Not happy. But this was actually a rare occasion when I wasn’t quite happy to be wearing a hat of some kind. To this day I love any occasion where I can pull on a cap.
 

this month’s photos

the AJ St. Louis, circa 1999 around the turn of the 21st century December 1993 circa 1991
circa 1989 eighties hair senior year, high school sophomore year, high school sophomore year, high school
grade 8 middle school drill team circa 1980 grade 6 grade 5
scouts bluebird sisters granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters
sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972 circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970
me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 31 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jules….don’t despair…we can find you some of the most AMAZING hats on our DECEMBER trip!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

