retro photo month :: day thirty

Kiwi, AJ, K2 - circa 1996   W, AJ, K2, Kiwi - circa 2001
  my greatest treasures: Kiwi and K2, circa 1996;   W, K2 and Kiwi, circa 2001
 

AJ and The D, circa 2006
AJ and Dyl, circa 2006

As best my parents can remember, I began wearing glasses in the first grade. My eyesight, like my dad’s and eventually both of my sisters’, is extremely nearsighted, and this began to manifest quickly after I began attending school. As a child it’s usually no big deal to wear glasses, but by the time I reached the fringes of puberty I became extremely self-conscious about them. In sixth grade I managed to convince my parents that contact lenses would be better for me and that set me on an interesting journey of ill-fitting lenses that were easily lost and often replaced until the lens makers finally developed better materials to accommodate my severe prescription and high astigmatism. That didn’t occur until adulthood, but it was such a Godsend to be comfortable in my vanity.
 
I was always certain that I would never return to glasses. Not only did I not like my appearance in them, but they were much less comfortable and practical than contacts. But age often forces a person to make decisions she never thought she would, and such was the case with me. By my mid-thirties I had developed conditions in my eyes that made contacts virtually unbearable after only a few hours, so I made the difficult decision to return to glasses. It’s been almost six years since then and I now find my appearance so foreign without the glasses. Styles have come a long way since my childhood, as have opinions about the people who wear spectacles, and I am finally comfortable with the challenges in my eyesight. At this point, I don’t even recognize myself with the glasses. My sixth grade self would never have believed that could happen.
 

this month’s photos

St. Louis, circa 1999 around the turn of the 21st century December 1993 circa 1991
circa 1989 eighties hair senior year, high school sophomore year, high school sophomore year, high school
grade 8 middle school drill team circa 1980 grade 6 grade 5
scouts bluebird sisters granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters
sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972 circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970
me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 30 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

