retro photo month :: day twenty-seven

 

   DK and me – college graduation, December 1993

circa 1993

I’ve written quite a bit about my challenging post-adolescent years and how changed I am because of them, but today’s photo brings those days front and center once again. I spent six-and-a-half years trudging through college (including one semester out after returning from New Jersey), and then finally graduated with a bachelor’s degree in psychology. Though I do love the field, psychology was never a pursued study for me so much as it was an area I stumbled into while bouncing in and out of other programs. In the final year of this journey I knew I had to just tally my hours and figure out which area gave me enough credits for the degree; the winner was psychology by a nose. Sure, I committed to it in the end and had grand dreams of helping people, but because I’d not had an actual advisor in all of my years at university, I didn’t get the memo that bachelor’s level psychology is really not worth much more than the paper on which it’s printed. Unfortunately, it took me another eighteen months, post-graduation, to grasp that fact. But still I carried on through the final semesters in order to achieve that time-honored goal of graduating from college.
 
Through the four years I was “away” at school, DK had been my lifeline. We were paired as dorm roommates by random selection — a fluke in itself as she was an incoming freshman but I was incoming as a junior — and it took us less than one night to realize that we had a great deal in common even though we had entirely different backgrounds. What seemed random was truly a God thing. We became instant best friends, living together for two years in the dorms and another two years in off-campus apartments, and then our tight friendship lasted an additional six years despite living hundreds of miles apart. This being the days before wide cell phone use, phone calls were expensive, too. But we planned afternoons every couple of months where one or the other would call and the conversation would last for 3-4 hours. It had been this way since the beginning, and it continued up until the days that we began to grow apart. While I’d had good friends in the past, none of my relationships had lasted this long nor been this intimate. I consider DK my first long-term best friend. And she earned that title through some challenging times.
 
In the month before graduation, we decided it would be a great idea to document our friendship with a photo. I’m still so grateful that we went through with this. In college, neither of us used cameras for much of anything, so I have less than 10 photos from all those years. This photo and the one from Day Twenty-Five are the quintessential shots to describe our college experience. It wasn’t so much about school itself — I actually remember very, very little about my classes or my routines; college was about our friendship. It was about walking through that period of our lives together. It was about leaning on each other (me, more than her), and sharing moments and meals and laughter and tears and frustrations and successes. If ever I am asked about college, I begin to speak of DK. And if I could talk to her today I would tell her how precious those days will always be. Friendship truly is forever, in one way or another.
 

this month’s photos

circa 1991 circa 1989 eighties hair
senior year, high school sophomore year, high school sophomore year, high school grade 8
middle school drill team circa 1980 grade 6 grade 5
scouts bluebird sisters granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters
sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972 circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970
me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 27 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love this line most of all: “It wasn’t so much about school itself — I actually remember very, very little about my classes or my routines; college was about our friendship.”

    Just goes to show how you go into an experience with certain expectations, but it usually becomes something entirely different.

    And that’s a good thing.

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

  2. LOVING all these photos!

    Like

  3. This is SOOOO amazing! You have the BEST blog ideas.
    If you have time, drop in and say hi to my FIRST AUTHOR GUEST, Cynthia Ruchti!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

