retro photo month :: day twenty-six

 

circa 1991I started experimenting with my hair in college. First I cut it super-short, then had some stripes shaved into the sides, and then I started playing with color. I took some time off from college after my junior year and worked as a nanny in New Jersey, where I didn’t know a soul and had no transportation of my own. All the work I’d done on my hair was left aside and I simply didn’t worry over it or even care that much. My time in Jersey was short-lived, but by the time I returned home my hair had grown into unfamiliar spiral curls. None of my curls in previous years had looked like this. It was like my hair had finally found its true nature, the heaven it’d been seeking for 21 years, and suddenly it didn’t take nearly as much effort as it once did. So I began to let it grow into those curls. I embraced the curls. For the first time in my life, I came to love my hair. I still play with color, and I’ve learned what does and does not work in styling, but I have loved my hair for 20 years now. And all because I had to leave it alone for a while.
 
photo from 1991
hair color: jet black with blue undertones

 
 
 

this month’s photos

circa 1989 eighties hair senior year, high school sophomore year, high school sophomore year, high school
grade 8 middle school drill team circa 1980 grade 6 grade 5
scouts bluebird sisters granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters
sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972 circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970
me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 26 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I didn’t know you worked as a nanny in Jersey for a time! I’m learning so much via these retro posts!! 🙂

    Cerella
    http://www.thecerellalife.com

    Like

  2. Yep… a brief time. That’s a blog post all on its own! Definitely a story to be told!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

