retro photo month :: day seventeen

 
I have pretty good memories from my sixth grade year, after a disastrous hair incident and equally frustrating first crush, that is. This photo was taken at the beginning of the school year, in 1980, and by then I had decided that I absolutely needed to be rid of my curly hair. I couldn’t stand it any longer. It simply wouldn’t mold itself into the big Farrah Fawcett waves that had become so popular, and even growing it longer didn’t provide enough weight to draw out the curls. So I asked my mom to do the unthinkable: apply a chemical straightener to my hair. And she did. And it was terrible. I remember going to school with hair that looked like it had been greased down to my head. Sure, it was longer but it was nasty. And there were many snickers from classmates as I walked through the lunchroom the next day. Truly humiliating. Thankfully, my hair eventually settled down, and I began what I call the “hot roller phase.” Much, much better!
 
The first crush didn’t go quite so smoothly, although it was just as humiliating. Unrequited crushes are the absolute worst. But something wonderful did come from one of these sixth grade crushes: I met the girl who would become my first long-term, chosen best friend. (I’d had a couple of “best” friends before that — one was a play pal from the neighborhood and the other a family friend — but Valerie was the first friendship I set out to create on my own.) We didn’t start off as friends, though. At first we didn’t like each other at all, but we did like the same boy. Of course, we soon learned that girlfriends last much longer than sixth grade boyfriends, and Valerie and I were inseparable for the next three years until my family moved away. When I think back on junior high, Valerie is my first and best memory. And it all began in a sixth grade social studies class. We recently reconnected via Facebook, and it’s very much like old times.

Grade 6
   6th grade, circa 1980
 

this month’s photos

grade 5 scouts bluebird sisters 
granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972
circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970 me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol
Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 17 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You look GREAT! And I loved the details of this post – with the crush and Valerie. 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

