retro photo month :: day sixteen

 
By my fifth grade year I was entering puberty and dealing with body issues, unruly hair, freckles everywhere from too many hours in the sun, and increasing social anxiety. Elementary school was over and the pressures of entering junior high were looming menacingly. My nose was in books more than ever before. But I had great teachers — including one who knew my eldest cousin in college and couldn’t understand how Patti wasn’t actually my aunt since we had a fourteen year age difference — and I had come to understand that intelligence and a sharp wit were qualities to be admired. My peers didn’t know this yet, though, and that led to many tears for the next twenty years. Still, the girl in this photo had not yet begun to spiral. And she loved Judy Blume but would have been mortified if anyone had questioned her reading material. (see link on Blume)

Grade 5
      circa 1979
 

this month’s photos

scouts bluebird sisters granddaughters and the matriarch three 70s sisters
sisters in plaid sisters, circa 1972 circa 1971 me, circa 1971 circa 1970
me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 16 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are SO SWEET! I hate to tell you this, but our fifth grade pix are eerily similar despite your lack of cat lady glasses and your brown eyes (compared to my blue) We can blame it on the genes, right?????!!!!!

    Like

    • Interestingly, my eyes are actually blue with green around the pupil. They do look brown in this photo so I think there was some photographer voodoo at work here! 😀 But I do love that our photos look similar. Send me a copy sometime for comparison! I’d say we can both do worse than the genes we got! Love you!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

