retro photo month :: day seven

 
In the first years of my life we lived in a tiny little house in a rural area, and my environment was apparently inhabited by chickens and a horse in a nearby field. I’ve always had a vague memory of an early encounter with a horse, though my mom doesn’t recall it, and I only know of the chickens because of this photo. I was probably only 2 years old here, but it’s so telling of my childhood. Obviously it’s the seventies — lots of plaid! — and it shows small town life, but most notable is the swing set. That set was brand new at this time but it survived until it was rusty and wobbly and my sisters and I had far outgrown it. And because we had such great memories of it, it’s the exact same style that was purchased for the grandchildren when they were old enough. My parents put a very similar one in their own backyard when Kiwi and K2 were probably two years old, and Kiwi’s parents put the same style in their own backyard. I’d venture to guess that the kids have as many cherished memories on their swing sets as we did on ours. It’s not only the photos that are tradition with us.
ADDENDUM: On further inspection of my rural home photo I see the aforementioned horse right there behind me. I knew I had memories of a horse! And did you see my feet? Are those moccasins? The seventies, man! It was the seventies!

me, circa 1971   Kiwi, circa 1997
  me, circa 1971-72                                                           Kiwi, circa 1997-98
 

this month’s photos

circa 1970 me and my sisters back at the Texas State Capitol Senate Chamber, Texas State Capitol at the Texas State Capitol
summer photo day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 7 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. From smile on faces, I can see that swing sets had brought you wonderful time in childhood.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

