retro photo month :: day three

 

My family never traveled far when I was growing up, but it always important to my parents that we take some sort of vacation during the year so that my dad could have time away from on-call duties. Working with very little budget, I remember far too many trips to Austin and San Antonio, where we always visited the State Capitol and the Alamo. The Capitol was especially important to us because my dad’s uncle served as Governor of Texas from 1969-1973 and his photo was prominently displayed in the Rotunda. Through the years, as new governors have taken office, the location of his photo has moved around and up the walls, but still to this day my family makes a point to visit the Capitol each time we pass through Austin just to check on Uncle Preston‘s photo. What always seemed like the same old vacation in my childhood years has also been a source of pride for us… despite the fact that our photos seem to look the same each and every time.
 

at the Texas State Capitol
     Mom and me at the Texas State Capitol
 

summer photo   day one


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 3 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

