retro photo month :: day one

 
For me, summer always brings forth family memories and nostalgia, so what better way to celebrate the season than a month of memories! Taking a cue from Elizabeth Dillow, I’ll be posting a retro-photo-a-day throughout July with emphasis on family and vacations, which will also chronicle the many (awkward) phases of my four decades.
 
There is no better beginning to this project than one of the numerous photos of me and my sisters posing in a field of bluebonnets. Such a Texas tradition! And I guarantee that this photo was taken on the spur of a moment while driving down a Texas highway. I have many memories of my dad pulling the car to the shoulder of a busy road and my mom ushering us out into the field for a “quick photo.” I’ve come to learn that this is kind of a rite of passage for a lot of families from my state. But that doesn’t make it any less odd!
 
Texas bluebonnets circa 1981
Janeen, Jules, Joanie — September 1981


Retro Photo Month was inspired by Elizabeth Dillow. Be sure to check out her own collection at {a swoop and a dart}.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 1 July 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

