a week in this life: Wednesday

 
working
 
I’m the first to admit that I’m not a good worker bee. My work ethic, much to my dad’s chagrin, is fairly non-existent. That’s not to say I don’t do good work; in fact, I produce work of the highest quality, thanks to my perfectionism. But I’m not always happy to be doing the work, and I’m not always happy to be sitting in an office 8 hours a day — even just three days each week. But the one thing I am happy to do, what I always do in every office I work, is take control of my space and make it reflective of me. Note the computer wallpaper featuring apartment buildings in Scotland. The striped coaster for my dragonfly tumbler and Kleenex box in a funky little pattern. The fun little calculator and cute paper stand. A mousepad featuring the Sydney Opera House, the mini-fan to keep me cool, and tiny little magnet board for important notes. And the source of my sanity, ear buds plugged into the desktop speakers, allowing me to block out the distractions and pipe in the music throughout the day. Everything on my desk has a flair that brings me joy. Sometimes it’s just about the things you can control.
 
These days… I spend half the week at a computer and half among shipping supplies.
These days… I’m thankful for a dedicated work space for both kinds of tasks.
These days… I strive for balance between what must be done and how it gets accomplished.
 
These days… that’s the best I can do.
 
 
row 1: foyer of my building in the downtown area / candy machine outside my office (not as tempting as you might think) / the staircase to the third floor that is the bane of my existence // row 2: t-shirts of years past and this year’s supply awaiting shipment / thank you gifts ready to head out // row 3: the wheel of prizes, marketing materials and luggage tags for the travelers / how my desk greets you: a little reminder about FAITH
working
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 24 March 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

