a week in this life: Monday

 
morning ritual
 
Morning Ritual: 6:30-9:00 AM
 
I am definitely not a morning person. It takes me all of an hour just to wake up, another half hour to get in and out of the shower, and then another hour to become presentable enough to walk out the door. My hair alone is thirty minutes. Contrary to what most people might believe, this curly head takes a lot of finesse. Makeup is another 20 minutes or so, and that’s way down from the almost 45 minutes it used to take me when I worked in a cosmetics shop and was experimental. Sure, I’m a perfectionist, but I think half of my morning is spent trying to stay on task. My brain isn’t truly awake for several hours. I can honestly say that half of my morning ritual is done without realizing I’m even going through the motions. I’m tuned into the music that plays continually from alarm to walking out the front door, and nary an actual formative thought enters my brain. And that itself is odd since I often wake with creative sparks and even full-blown story scenarios in mind. But once my feet leave the bed and hit the floor, all thought processes shut down completely. And into a rote routine I go.
 
On this morning… I wish I had another couple of hours in that comfortable, warm bed.
On this morning… I love the selections shuffling on the iPod while I move through the hours.
On this morning… I actually like the way my hair fell into place. My face could use some work.
 
I guess I should’ve paid a little more attention.
 

morning alarms     morning playlist
It takes three alarms and a playlist to fully wake me in the morning.
Even then, I’m a zombie for another hour.

 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 22 March 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

