a day in the Dallas Arts District (#25 of 40 things)

 
Just over a year ago I set out to accomplish 40 things in my 40th year. Though my 41st birthday has now passed and I’m still working on the list, I did accomplish quite a few things and am just now getting around to posting them. I do plan to continue until I cross off every last item, but for now I am content with inching toward the goal.
 
On July 29, 2009, I spent the day in the Dallas Arts District in order to cross off #25. I only had enough time for one museum — and even then I only managed to get through 3/4 of the exhibits in the four hours I had available for browsing — but it was incredibly good for my soul. I can spend all day in art museums and return in a couple months and spend another full day without ever getting bored. I’m in awe of the collections, in awe of the names painted in corners of masterful works. On this particular day, I thrilled the most to be standing less than three feet from an actual Jackson Pollock canvas. It truly took my breath away, as did the reminder that he painted his masterpieces in the 1940s! It’s true that the greatest artists are always ahead of their time. And the Dallas Museum of Art is filled with them.
 
Rock-Rock  Dallas Museum of Art
click to view photos from my day at the museum
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 15 March 2010, in Lists I Keep, Places I Go and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow! Such glorious photos here! It totally made my morning…but it also makes me want to play hookey today and head to an art museum. 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

