Pop Culture Personality Quiz: Cerella D. Sechrist

Cerella D. SechristAuthor Cerella D. Sechrist wraps up her week of guest blogging with a special version of the Pop Culture Personality Quiz (inspired by Entertainment Weekly). Each of these questions was designed to give you a closer look at the woman behind the stories and to grant a glimpse into what inspires her (and perhaps what does not)! Be sure to stop by her blog and let her know how much you’ve enjoyed her time here, and don’t forget to pick up a copy of her book, Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania.
 
Remember, today is our BIG GIVEAWAY! Be sure to read all the way to the conclusion for details on how you can enter to win. Winners will be posted on this blog, Saturday, February 6.
 


Pop Culture Personality Quiz with Cerella D. Sechrist
 
What book do you wish you had written, and whose career would you like to have?    I wish I had written Liz Curtis Higgs’s Lowlands of Scotland series. Placed in eighteen century Scotland, the books are an updated historical telling of the brothers Jacob and Esau. Higgs did a brilliant job transferring the Biblical story into 1764 Scotland. I was reading it, thinking, “Brilliant! Why didn’t I do this?!?” LOL
 
I’d love to have Ted Dekker’s career. He’s innovative and well-established enough that he gets away with whatever story he puts out there. Not all of his books are favorites of mine, but I have a great respect for the way he weaves plots, conjures theories and settings, and surprises you with unexpected lessons. He is the most unique writer, and yet he pulls most of his ideas off with pure panache.
 

Charlier Schlatter
Have you ever written a fan letter?    The one and only fan letter I ever wrote was to Charlie Schlatter (see Tuesday’s post about Pop Culture Favorites). I had to have been 11 or 12 years old. After I sent it, I was completely mortified that I wrote it in the first place. I think I even sprayed some cloying perfume on the stationary before tucking it into the envelope.
 
I never sent another one.
 
 
What piece of pop culture memorabilia from your childhood do you wish you still had?    When I was about three or four, I had this insanely COOL Strawberry Shortcake cardboard dollhouse. It was about four stories high and outrageously colorful. I absolutely adored it.
 
It disappeared during a move, and I never saw it again. I’ve been heartbroken over its loss ever since.
 

What do you consider your geekiest possession?
I recently purchased a Disney Pocahontas PEZ dispenser. In my defense, I was with a six-year-old at the time, and she insisted I get it to accompany her Belle PEZ dispenser.
 

Mia Bella CandlesWhat is your biggest guilty pleasure?
Mia Bella Candles. My mom became a distributor of these natural wax candles several years ago, and she has us all addicted. I don’t feel like I’m at home unless I have one burning. My favorite scents are Eucalyptus, Japanese Pear and Snowberry Pine.
 

What one interest do you refuse to apologize for?
Food. I love the variety, the cultural aspect, the creation. Mostly, I love the history of it. It took me awhile to realize that when I set out to research historical time periods for novels, the very first thing I wanted to learn about was what the people in that era ate.
 
I grew up in a family where food was the center of many of our holidays and gatherings. We had ‘corn day’ where all the extended family would gather to husk, boil, shell and freeze corn for the year ahead. As a kid, there was nothing better than summer days sitting on the cool of the basement floor, gnawing on denuded corn cobs while the adults chattered above you.
 
Then we had ‘cookie baking day’ where the same crew would gather, the day after Thanksgiving, to bake over 80-dozen cookies. The kids were in charge of the sand tarts — with colorful egg wash dyes, we’d paint the tarts, inserting little edible silver dragées for eyes and decorations. The adults would constantly chastise us for sneaking into the living room, where all the cookies were stacked to cool before they were bagged. It’s too much temptation for a child.
 
Yes, I come from a family that probably eats too much, and it’s resulted in my being a little rounder than I want to be. But I can’t be sorry for it, and I won’t apologize. Food brings people together, and it’s an art in its own right.
 
 
What is the most embarrassing song on your iPod?
My brother, Caleb, should answer this one. He is a music connoisseur. He likes to provoke me by playing the first three notes of any given song and making me guess what it is. Yes, he’s one of THOSE. So when he was home for Christmas, I made the mistake of letting my iPod lay out, and he began scrolling through it. I winced at his tone when he said, “Cerella? Seriously? BB Mak?”
 
It’s a good thing he didn’t scroll any further to encounter Hilary Duff’s “So Yesterday.”
 

What is the song that makes you dance any time you hear it?
“Love Addict” by Family Force 5
 

The movie you watch every time you see it on television?
Zoolander. Because the people in it are really, really good-looking.
 

The last awesomely bad movie you got sucked into on cable?
Probably something of the Jackass nature. I know those boys need to grow up, but I have a secret crush on Johnny Knoxville, so… I’m usually suckered into it by his presence long before my good sense catches up with me.
 

What is your favorite awesomely bad movie?
Pauly Shore movies would be at the top of the list. I know, I know… but he’s just FUNNY, even in his awesomely awfulness. My two favorite films of his are Son-in-Law (“Thank God I’m a country boy!”) and Encino Man (“stone-age Tupperware”).
 
 I would say he’s an acquired taste, but his best awesomeness was back in the 90s. If you didn’t acquire the taste back then, you probably never will.
 

Encino Man

 

Name the movie that always makes you cry.
Many years ago, my sister and I bawled for thirty minutes solid (gushing, endless tears) after we watched the movie Sommersby. No lie. And it was our fourth viewing of it, too! LOL! My mom was honestly concerned about us. When I mentioned this question to her, the first thing she said was, “Well, there’s always the times you watched Sommersby…”
 

When do you talk back to the TV?
This would imply it would have to talk to me FIRST, which it never has. =D
 
I don’t usually talk to the TV, but I do gasp on occasion. You know, if someone is unexpectedly hit by a bus, Cerella is the one in the corner that draws in her breath sharply and causes everyone to look her way…
 

Which five items will you take with you on the 3-hour tour that shipwrecks at an uncharted island?    A machete, waterproof matches, toothpaste, the entire Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, and a volleyball. (Preferably a Wilson, but a Voit would do in a pinch.)
 

When you go on your big publicity tour, what items will you demand for your dressing room?    Gourmet coffee, chocolate-covered strawberries, a serenity fountain, my own personal masseuse and high-speed internet…
 
When can we make this happen? =D
 

Lastly, choose just one:
 
Choose Just One
 
It’s been a great week, and I hope everyone has gotten to know me and my writing a little bit better. Thank you, Jules, for featuring me!
 


In honor of the release of Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania, Cerella is giving away this amazing gift package inspired by the book and its sweet story.

 

    Cerella D Sechrist promotional giveaway

  • Autographed copy of Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania (personalized to the winner, if you choose)
  • A handcrafted journal made out of recycled materials — created with book pages and featuring a stencil design
  • A bookmark made from a Hershey’s Chocolate Bar wrapper
  • An angel suncatcher, in honor of Sadie’s restaurant, Suncatchers
  • A votive candle — Chocolate Kiss scent — in a glass votive cup
  • A copy of Briar Cox’s CD Letters to Myself (mentioned in Wednesday’s post under Currently Listening)

 
To enter* for your chance to win, leave a comment here and answer for yourself one of the questions from the Pop Culture Personality Quiz above. The contest will remain open until Saturday, February 6, at 5:00pm EST. One winner will be chosen by random number generator, and that winner’s name will be posted on this blog Saturday evening, February 6.
 
*One additional entry may be earned by mentioning this post via Twitter. Be sure to return here and add your Twitter post link to a second comment so it will be counted as an entry.
 
*One additional entry may be earned by leaving a comment on Cerella’s blog via this link.
 
Thank you to everyone who stopped by this week and participated in this celebration of Cerella and her debut novel! Be sure to visit her blog to stay up to date with all the happenings surrounding Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania. You can also find her at her official website, as well as Facebook and Twitter.
 


 

Posted on 5 February 2010, in People I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Jennifer Short

    The most embarassing song on my iPod is called “Grandma’s Revenge” — it’s a Christmas song about how Grandma got back at the reindeer the next year after they ran her over. 🙂

    Like

  2. I always always watch Back to the future when it’s on! Sad, but true.

    Like

  3. What is the most embarrassing song on your iPod?
    The most embarassing song on my ipod is “Push It” by Salt N Pepa!

    Shhh….don’t tell anyone…..lol

    Like

  4. I tweeted for you too!!!
    thanks
    bleatham(at)gmail.com

    Like

  5. I have seen the movie Overboard with Goldie Hawn at least 20 times. My Dad and I call one another and tell one another it is on in case the other does not know. Silly huh? You way more in touch with your self than I am. It would have taken me month s to answer these questions Cerella. Great job. BTY my dad used to sell Mia Bella- I LOVE their bath soap.
    Blessings to you and your fam

    Like

  6. I love hearing what everyone’s pop culture favorites are. Helps me feel a little more normal about my own! LOL!

    @Diana – I didn’t know that about your dad and MiaBella! So cool! I love their bath soaps as well, though it’s the candles I can’t live w/o. 🙂

    Thanks everyone for continuing to comment here! 🙂

    Like

  7. this website is the best
    especially for chocolate fans like my self

    Todd

    Like

  8. Allyn Sigworth

    The movie that always makes me cry is “Terms of Endearment.” A very complicated mother/daughter relationship which I relate to. Also, “Marley and Me”. I love my dogs so much and this one is a real tearjerker too.

    Like

  9. I’m gonna jump in here and answer a couple of the questions since I never really get to participate in these! One of my favorite awesomely bad movies (and there are TONS that I love) is “Elektra.” It’s terrible but Jennifer Garner captivates me in the role, plus I think the creepy mutant people are pretty awesome. Oh, and Goran Visnjic. I think that’s enough. 🙂

    The movie that always makes me cry, however, is a bit odd to most people. “Good Will Hunting” I had a similar experience to Cerella’s with “Sommersby” in that when it ended I was crying so much over the friendship between the Damon and Affleck characters (and that they didn’t need goodbyes) that I sat in the cinema for a solid 15 minutes unable to stand up for all the tears pouring down my cheeks. I was laughing at myself and crying from the movie, and friends just stood there awkwardly wondering what in the world could have affected me so. It just made me think of my best friend at the time and our own friendship, I think. Every time I watch it now, I still cry at the exact same moments. 🙂

    Like

  10. Ummmm no question when it comes to the fave out of those fictional characters you have listed!!! Mr Darcy all the way!! Really I mean is there anything better than a brooding, sexy, rich man in a cravat? And like you sai, I wouldn’t mind living in a shack like Pemberley!!!! 😛

    Please don’t enter me I already have the book, I just had to respond to that last question LOL

    Like

  11. The movie that always makes me cry is “Dead Poets Society”. One of my all time favorites. I just loved Ethan Hawke in it and could relate.

    Like

  12. Still more great answers here! I love reading everyone’s guilty pleasures and faves! 🙂 There are no wrong answers, after all… 😉

    Like

  13. what song makes you want to dance?

    sugar magnolia by the grateful dead

    madamerkf at aol dot com

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

