one word: heart

 
Today’s One Word post is special because I share it with my friend Cerella D. Sechrist, who is posting her own take on the same word over at my pop culture blog. The word is her own choice as we determined to do a Valentine-type focus, but in the end we couldn’t bring ourselves to write in a traditional sense about such a traditional topic. Take some time to stop by and read Cerella’s take. And enter the giveaway over there by commenting on your own Word. But first, this week’s challenge to write One Word…
 
 
heart
 
The usual imagery associated with “heart”, especially around this time of year, is something pretty, sweet, romantic. But I’ve never been that kind of girl. When it comes to Valentine’s Day, though, I do enjoy sharing my heart with others, just not in the typical sense. I’ve never been in a romantic relationship during this season, so I have always focused my attentions on the people who are constant in my life. My heart remains fixed on them all throughout the year, and so Valentine’s Day is just one more day to remind them of that love. And while that is the true nature of the day anyway, it’s not what most people end up doing. The commercial aspect has overshadowed the sentiment. But I grasp that sentiment and hold onto it tightly. My family and my friends are the focus, but words will be the main gift I give them. My heart is constantly filled with emotions that very few words can adequately express, yet I’ve come to learn that these few words mean the most anyway.
 
Jesus told us that where our treasure lay, our hearts will be. I want my heart to lie with the people I love. I want them to know that they are my treasure. This can’t happen during a single day in February. My heart must be full of them at all times. I’m thankful that I know the God who teaches us all how to love. And I’m thankful that His heart is big enough to forgive me when I fail. Without the example of a loving God, my own heart would have no hope at all. Yet it is because I do have His example that my heart is constantly bursting with more love than I know what to do with. I’m grateful that my life is filled with people who understand that about me and have turned their hearts toward me, as well. Every day of the year.


This post was derived from the list of inspiration words gathered on Ali Edwards’s blog and from the concept of writing about one word.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 3 February 2010, in People I Love, Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Heart reminds me of the song “You gotta have heart,” meaning that gumption to get things done, that passion that drives actions.

    I also think of “When Crickets Cry,” a POIGNANT story by Charles Martin about a heart surgeon.

    And my father’s dysfunctional heart that caused his early death…

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

