one word: more

 

more
I’ve mentioned here before how much I love bright, shiny things and how tempted I am to make impulse purchases and spend far too much — even when spending for a valid reason or good cause. It is my nature to want and to do more. I’m the first to tell you that I have an obsessive personality. Just enough is just not enough. It’s too little. I work to perfection, I overdo almost everything, and I’m always thinking about what else there can be rather than settling into what already is. I’m the kind of person who can easily miss what’s right in front of her. And I often do. It’s not easy for me to be still and just live in the richness of the moment. But God is always at work in me.

During the past year I’ve become deliberate in how I view the world around me. I’ve taken time to unplug from the busyness, and I’ve challenged myself with a daily project designed to turn my focus outward and see all the beauty that exists around me. I’m learning to appreciate the moments of each day. And I’m learning to make do with what I have right now. I’m still obsessive and still have an addiction to “want,” but God is helping me channel those traits into more productive outlets. For now, that’s enough.


This post was derived from the list of inspiration words gathered on Ali Edwards’s blog and from the concept of writing about one word.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 27 January 2010, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

