5 things I love this week

January 3-9, 2010

 
one the posting of one photo + one thought. I am the first to admit my own verbosity, especially in written form, but I love the idea of posting just one thing. One photo, one idea. There is great power in this for me, and I’ve been completely inspired this week by Habit, a group blog of single photos posted daily. I’ve made this a goal for 2010: to nail down my thoughts to one brief statement, whether it coincides with my photo or not. It’s a new take on chronicling life, and I like the idea that in 5 or 10 or 25 years I’ll be able to look back and remember, or maybe just look back and see the artistry. I really want to find the power and beauty in mundane things.
 
two Leftovers. A photo blog. Continuing that idea of singular photo + brief statement, this site features one woman’s chronicle of what she eats. I’ve been doing this myself from time to time in my own quest to post one photo per day, but the idea of capturing meals every single day is just quirky enough to inspire me. And I’m often moved by the power and brevity of what she writes in tandem with the photos. Very, very cool!
 
three Love Finds You in Hershey, PennsylvaniaAll-around praise for my dearest friend. Already in 2010, my friend Cerella D. Sechrist has seen her first book published after half a lifetime of working to make this dream a reality. That the reviews for her book have been full of glowing praise just thrills my heart and makes me as proud as a big sister (which is often how I feel about her anyway). She is precious to me, and her book, Love Finds You in Hershey, Pennsylvania, is a delight in every way. Congratulations, girl! You deserve every bit of praise!
 
four The Puppini Sisters. Taking modern songs and recreating them in boogie woogie style is absolutely brilliant! I’ve never had so much fun listening to beloved songs. If all music was completely made over in this style, I would never be bored with what’s on the radio!
 
five Mercy tv series. I’m always willing to try out new television shows if the premise if appealing or the cast features favorite actors, so when I first began watching Mercy back in the fall it was simply a trial run. I was intrigued by the premise of a woman returning from the Iraqui desert to rejoin civilian life as a nurse in a New Jersey hospital, as well as the additional romantic element of a doctor returning from Iraq and moving to her town just to continue an affair they had begun during their tour of duty. I loved the main character of Veronica from the moment she came to life onscreen, and I was enchanted by the doctor and his desire to change his life to be near her. What I never expected was falling in love with every other character that supports the story, nor to find each week’s storylines better and better, filled with humor and sadness and layers upon layers of emotional depth. I found myself really looking forward to new episodes each week and becoming invested in the outcome of Veronica’s love life. That aspect is made more complicated by the fact that she has been married throughout her tour and during the affair, and when she returned home and was faced with two men vying for her affections, she became torn between the two of them. I, too, have been torn between the two of them. The doctor, played by James Tupper, who I first discovered on Men in Trees, is charming and sweet and very much in love with Veronica, and the idea of a man changing his entire life for a woman is the stuff of fantasy. But the husband, as played by Diego Klattenhoff, who I also discovered on Men in Trees, is ever more endearing in his emotional investment with Veronica despite a vast array of flaws as a husband. I find myself rooting for both men as they compete for Veronica’s affections, making the drama even more palpable to watch.
 
The character of Veronica is refreshing, as well. She is sarcastic and dry and blunt with both her friends and her patients, but she is also written as one of the best nurses in the hospital. Her personal life constantly interferes with her work, and her family of misfits make her own post-war and post-traumatic stress woes seem highly functional. Hers are certainly the best written lines on the series, from her use of the term “Doctor Ladypants” to describe a rival for the affections of Tupper’s doctor/lover, to telling her husband that she “saw this pig and thought of you” when presenting him with an entire full-grown roasted swine as a birthday gift. Veronica is snarky and clever and battered, but she is one of the best characters on television today. So I root for her and look forward to Mercy each and every week. I have no idea whether it will survive to a second season, but I am thankful for something different in the medical genre of television.
 
Mercy - James Tupper, Taylor Schilling, Diego Klattenhoff
   James Tupper, Taylor Schilling, Diego Klattenhoff (image via NBC.com)
 
About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 9 January 2010, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

