inspiration surrounds me

Christmas inspires me.    Hand-crafted artistry pours forth from magazines, television, blogs and store windows. Mothers and fathers take on projects to ensure that children receive their hearts’ desires on Christmas morn. Homeowners string together miles of cords to create that just-right display of light. And shop owners pull out all the stops to catch the eye as throngs of customers fill their aisles. There is color and sound and sparkle and somewhat controlled chaos, and every bit of it thrills my heart. I am genuinely inspired by the artistry, by the work that goes into each display. Even the smallest and most unassuming element can draw me near. On the first floor of my office building the tenants have taken up the challenge and created a welcoming suite of treasures to greet me each morning and bid me farewell each evening. But the grandest tree and most noble of Nutcracker statues can in no way overshadow the bright little urns of poinsettias that liven the corners of the foyer. This simple little silk plant winks at me daily through the dazzling rhinestones that cluster in the center of each flower. I never imagined that such a tiny gesture could fill a soul with daily inspiration.
 
poinsettia
 
    poinsettia   poinsettia


Documenting the days of Christmas was inspired by Ali Edwards’s December Daily project and the Holidays in Hand class by Jessica Sprague.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 4 December 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

