home for the holidays

family ornamentI’ve always said that Home is not a place but a state of mind, and this is true during the holidays, as well. Although I always enjoyed returning to my parents’ house for Christmas and Thanksgiving celebrations, especially during my college years, the joy wasn’t tied to their house or to the decor as much as it was to my family and our shared moments. I looked forward to the scents that filled the house from my mom’s creative endeavors in the kitchen, but this was simply because it reminded me of Mom and was rarely for the culinary creations themselves. I enjoyed walking into the living room and seeing the fully decorated tree because each ornament held a family story and brought thoughts of Christmases past. Even the sounds in the room were reminders of my dad — none so more than a ridiculous electronic chirping that was meant to sound like a bird residing inside the tree. As annoying as the bird chirping was, my sisters and I still found it great fun because it made our dad so giddy. Christmas has always been full of joy in our family, handed down for generations as a special time to come together and celebrate each other and the blessings we have. And though my sisters and I are now living in our own homes and our parents travel full-time in an RV, we still make a point to come together at one home for Christmas Day. No matter where we choose to meet, that place is home to all of us. Even if only for a few hours.


Documenting the days of Christmas was inspired by Ali Edwards’s December Daily project and the Holidays in Hand class by Jessica Sprague.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 2 December 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

