Clean Sweep, Part One

My last post certainly elicited strong responses from friends and family, most of which was shock and confusion. I expected that! But each time the topic came up, I was quick to remind everyone that I would never have posted photos of my disheveled flat if I wasn’t planning to clean it up very soon. I’m fairly transparent and open, but I’m certainly not stupid enough to believe that no one would call me on the laziness and general disgust of the situation. I expected that, too, and fully intend to be accountable for my state of living. To that end, this is the first in a series of posts showing the “After” — allowing everyone to see that I do, in fact, enjoy a clean space and am fairly proud of what I’ve managed to bring together in the four years I’ve lived in this one apartment. And so we begin…

from the front entry   looking back toward the front entry
from the front entry looking toward the entry
 
from the kitchen entry
 
cabinets + stove counter near pantry
 
stove + counter
 
sink
 
There is a reason that I never want to put food storage containers away when they come out of the dishwasher. I have only one good cabinet for such storage, and it’s inconveniently placed. Plus, as you can see below, I have inherited more than my share of plastic. (Family, if you’re reading this, I’m good! I won’t be needing any more storage bowls, thanks.) I just can’t get motivated to re-stack these towers of plastic each and every time I take 2 or 3 of them out of the dishwasher. Not to mention that I have to sit on the floor to do so. It’s just far easier to put them on a countertop and let them pile up. Judge me if you will, but this is one thing that’s not likely to change.
 
lower cabinet storage for plastic containers

 
Stay tuned for Part Two, coming next week!
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 19 November 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

