5 things I don’t like to do

one I don’t like to cook meals for myself. It’s not the actual cooking so much as the necessity of cooking. I have so many things running through my head, so many tasks on my daily list of things I want to do, and I just hate stopping to make a meal. I’m all about pulling something from the refrigerator and heating it up in 5 minutes or less. I will often pull together disparate elements from fridge and pantry then call it a “meal”, when actually it’s just a bit of leftover rotisserie chicken with a few slices of cheese and half a bag of chips. And that’s assuming I don’t just stop at a drive-thru on the way home. Cooking for myself takes planning and preparation and waiting time, and I’m just not interested. Of course, that means I never eat well either, but so far I haven’t managed to break this bad habit. I think it’s a curse of lifelong singledom.
two I avoid emptying the refrigerator. Because I allow things to become science projects in there I cannot stand the aftermath of emptying the foul containers. Just tonight I removed 3 nearly empty jugs of expired milk to make room for the one I just purchased. I don’t know why I left the others in there so long but when it reaches the expired stage I simply shove it to the back and ignore it. Cleaning out the shelves involves smells and sights and the scrubbing off of fuzzy things. It’s just too much for me. So I leave it in the fridge and ignore it as long as possible. Never mind that this is what causes the smells and sights and fuzzy things in the first place. I didn’t say it made sense.
three I put off unloading the dishwasher. I’ll put off doing dishes until the end of the day, but I will empty the sink and load the dishwasher. But after the dishes are clean, I just hate having to put them away. I just keep piling new dishes in the sink until there’s no longer any room for dirties and I am forced to clear out the dishwasher. I do feel a great sense of achievement and unburdening after I’ve emptied the clean items and cleared the sink, but it’s not strong enough to make me rush to unload the dishwasher during the next round. Just so you know, I’ve never understood this either.
four I try to never go out on Saturdays. When I’m working, I spend the after-office hours running errands each night of the week so that I can stay in my flat on Saturdays. When the rest of the world is out and about celebrating a free day, I prefer to hole up inside and chill. I might work around the apartment or I might choose to vege out with a movie marathon, but I fiercely guard this one day for “me” time. It’s the only day of the week I don’t have to be somewhere in particular, so I make sure that everything requiring me to engage with humans is complete by Friday night. I might not get home until almost 10:00pm some nights, but at least my Saturday is my own. And I’m not ready to give that up.
five I really don’t like to make small talk. I especially hate doing this with people I’ve just met. It bores me and it never seems to reveal anything of consquence from the other person. Seriously, let’s have a real conversation. I want to know things of importance. Not necessarily political views or intense topics, but I would much prefer to spend time talking about individual and shared interests or hearing a story from someone’s life. Really, I want people to impress me. And I’m easy to impress! But small talk, even among close friends, just shuts down my brain. I’m likely to make up an excuse to walk away and do it fast. If you see me doing this, go ahead and call me on it. At least that will get us talking about something important.
About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 27 July 2009, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

