one word: release

I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. …Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. — Philippians 3:13a, 14
 
The idea is simple: Let go. Release. Put the past in the past and look ahead to what is coming. Why, then, is it be so hard for us to do? Why can’t we simply release what we can no longer do anything about? Why can’t we forgive what has been done to us? Why can’t we forget what didn’t turn out as planned? Why can’t we move forward and try again without feeling the weight of our past upon us? These are the questions that continue to plague our weary spirits and continue to bring us to anxiety and fear. And if we’re not careful, that anxiety and that fear will paralyze us in the mire of our pasts.
 
My own personal struggle has been one of anxiety and regret over the failures of my youth, and it has been my greatest accomplishment to truly let go of that girl who once was. I make conscious effort to release her, to release myself from the guilt of my past and to press forward into becoming a new creation in Christ. Satan is crafty, always reminding me of that girl and making me feel like I have to continue paying for those sins, but I have come to understand that God forgives and He forgets, casting my sins as far from Him and me as the East is from West. That I would continue to dwell on something that has been released is the same as telling the Father that He doesn’t know what He’s talking about, that His promises are false. But I know that’s not true. I know my God has released me from the chains of my past, so it’s simply up to me to believe Him. And I do believe Him. And that frees me. Releases me. To love my God and to love myself, which then allows me to love others as Jesus does. The act of releasing is the beginning of the future, of my service to a just LORD. Who am I to deny Him that?


This post was derived from the list of inspiration words gathered on Ali Edwards’s blog and from the concept of writing about one word.
 

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 1 July 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your scripture and version and imagery and vision! Read the whole comment on Beth’s blog. Glory to God!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

