favorite things: Summer Film Series

Watching movies is my all-time favorite pasttime, and every year I look forward to the release of summer’s blockbuster films. It is my ritual, something I make time and effort to do. and I will try to see at least three films per month, if at all possible. It is my great joy and one of the things I look forward to each and every year. Today, my 2009 Summer Film Series begins, and listed here are my anticipated viewings over the next three months.
 
What makes me want to see these films in theaters but wait for the DVD release of other (often better) films is purely subjective and emotional. It’s also fairly seasonal. In the summer things are a little breezier, a little less stressful, and I enjoy films that allow me to escape and be entertained. I like the fantasy, I like the gigantic movie worlds, and I like sharing the experience with others who are like-minded. Summer films cater to my non-serious interests. The explosions, the high-speed chases, the over-the-top relationships and situations speak to my desire to go somewhere else and be part of something completely different than my normal life. Thankfully, this year’s group promises to take me to far away worlds, to the future and back in time, and even, just UP. I’ll be able to spend time with favorite actors like Adrian Brody and Johnny Depp, and I’ll decide one and for all if I like Zachary Quinto in roles other than Sylar. The Summer Film Series is my favorite time of the movie year, and this summer is likely to be a great one!
 

  X-Men Origins: Wolverine  
Wolverine
  Star Trek  
Star Trek
  Terminator: Salvation  
Terminator: Salvation
 
  The Brothers Bloom  
The Brothers Blooom
  Night at the Museum 2  
Night at the Museum:
Battle of the Smithsonian
  UP  
UP
 
  Public Enemies  
Public Enemies
  Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen  
Transformers:
Revenge of the Fallen
  Julie & Julia  
Julie & Julia
 

 
all film images from the Internet Movie Poster Awards website

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 1 May 2009, in Lists I Keep and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

