NICK AND NORAH’S INFINITE PLAYLIST

DVD viewing

Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist

With most movies aimed at teenagers, I do feel old and out of touch now, as they rarely intrigue me. But occasionally a film opens that seems to hit the mark in what I do love and what I can remember feeling at various times in my life. When I saw the first trailer for Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, I had one of those feelings. I wanted the film to be an updated John Hughes-style movie — great music, quirky characters, ridiculous but sweet melodrama over the course of 24 hours that never made me feel bored or detached. Nick and Norah, as a film, didn’t quite reach my lofty expectations, but I still enjoyed most of it. Focusing solely on the two principal characters, I discovered a relationship that could easily fit in with the other beloved pairs from my youth. But the bulk of the film was disposable, and many of the details were simply rehashed from a thousand other films of this type. Thankfully, Michael Cera as Nick and Kat Dennings as Norah were allowed to shine in their roles, and they provided sufficient joy to feel I had not wasted my time.

image from Rotten Tomatoes

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 13 March 2009, in What I Watch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

