CONFESSIONS OF A SHOPAHOLIC

February 28, 2009, at Movies 14 in McKinney, Texas

Confessions of a Shopaholic

No one describes me as a “chick flick” kind of girl, but I did read the first book in the Confessions of a Shopaholic series and found myself laughing throughout the story. Her woes with credit card debt and persistent phone calls from said debt collectors were all too familiar to me. And I found the main character’s romance to be perfectly awkward and realistic in a way so much “chick lit” fails to achieve. So when I heard of a film based upon those books, I felt I had to give it a try.

With Isla Fisher, adorable Isla Fisher, in the lead role, Confessions really could have transcended its fluffy pedigree. On some level, it did, as the film was funny and sweet and perfectly goofy without an overload of saccharine. And it never took itself too seriously, which makes it less of a chick flick and more just a really fun movie. The casting decision of Hugh Dancy as the love interest, Luke Brandon, was also an inspired choice, even if he wasn’t given enough latitude to shine in the role. But I still felt that he and Fisher embodied all the best of their literary counterparts, making the viewing of this film an afternoon well-spent. And if they choose to make a sequel, I’m comforably on board!

image from Rotten Tomatoes

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 28 February 2009, in What I Read, What I Watch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

