no sense crying over spilt orange juice

spilt orange juice
 This is all that remains of the orange juice I just mixed up one minute before. Only a portion of one mug remained after stirring up a full 2 quarts. The remainder of that pitcher ended up all over the cabinet and all over my kitchen floor. Within seconds, the OJ I purchased only yesterday was running beneath my feet.

 
Thankfully, by grace, I managed to stay calm and not curse the loss of all that juice (or money). My mind certainly went to the fact that this one pitcher represented an entire week of breakfast, that this OJ is essential to a medication I must take each morning and this little accident will force me to purchase more before I was prepared to do so. But my heart immediately counteracted those thoughts with praise to the LORD that no more damage was done. That the OJ did not soak my white socks. That I had an old towel available to soak up all the excess. That I had nowhere else to be today and could deal with the aftermath. This little incident will now require me to do the piles of laundry that I probably would’ve avoided in favor of other, less necessary, tasks. Despite the inconvenience, I can only praise God.

These months have been an exercise in faith, learning to trust God in every single little situation as well as all the big stuff. The fact that I must now purchase more OJ before I planned will mean a faith that God will provide the cash to do so. And this little incident reinforces more heady decisions I’m facing: do I apply for a job that I would enjoy and do well but for which I’m not actually qualified? Do I look into another desired position that would require me to depend upon the support of individuals for my salary rather than a guaranteed paycheck? All of these are questions of faith, and I’m squarely in the midst of them.

Jesus said never to worry. “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? — Matthew 6:25-27 (NIV)

I have seen God’s providence in every area of my life, again and again and again, and I know that He will continue to provide money for rent, expenses, insurance, as well as employment at the exact right time. For now, I have reminders like spilt OJ to keep me focused and patient until His timing is revealed. All I can do is laugh and raise my hands in praise to my Heavenly Father and His remarkable sense of humor.

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 18 February 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

