2009 Scripture Memory (4-5 of 24): PSALM 27: 4-6

For this new period I have chosen to memorize the life verse of my first spiritual mentor, Charlotte Taylor. It is always on my heart but has never been committed to memory.

I ask only one thing, LORD:
Let me live in your house every day of my life
to see how wonderful you are and to pray in your temple.

In times of trouble, you will protect me.
You will hide me in your tent and keep me safe on top of a mighty rock. You will let me defeat all of my enemies.

Then I will celebrate, as I enter your tent with sacrifices and songs of praise. Psalm 27:4-6 (CEV)

Because I love the first/second person rendering (me to Him), I’m going to memorize this passage in the Contemporary English Version above. Still, I love the phrasing of it in the The Message:

I’m asking God for one thing, only one thing:
To live with him in his house my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate his beauty; I’ll study at his feet.

That’s the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world,
The perfect getaway, far from the buzz of traffic.

God holds me head and shoulders above all who try to pull me down. I’m headed for his place to offer anthems that will raise the roof! Already I’m singing God-songs; I’m making music to God.

So much to contemplate this month!

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 17 February 2009, in Stories I Tell and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

