My Top Five Moments of the Golden Globe Awards

My Annual Oscar Ritual begins each year with the Golden Globe Awards telecast, which is no longer so much an indication of the Oscars as it is a catalyst to help me determine which films to begin seeing right away. Tonight’s telecast of the Golden Globes was probably my favorite in many, many years. Though I have seen very few of the nominated performances, I was instead inclined to root for many of my longtime favorite actors. And while there are many enjoyable moments in the ceremony, there were five distinct (and surprising!) favorites, moments I have longed to see and hope to see repeated again and again.

1. Kate Winslet wins for not one, but BOTH of her nominations

Kate Winslet at Golden Globes 2009• Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture — Drama for Revolutionary Road
• Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role — Motion Picture for The Reader

Winslet has been one of my favorite actors for most of her career, and she is always impressive, always genuine and generous in her gratitude for getting the work she gets. That these two projects were so close to her heart made me root for her above all others this year, and I was thrilled to see her win over Meryl Streep, Angelina Jolie, and even Anne Hathaway, who seemed favored to win in the lead actor category. I hope to see Winslet finally, finally take home an Oscar, so deserved in so many years in the past. And her wins tonight have convinced me to move her two films to the top of my viewing list in this year’s Oscar Ritual.

2. The poignancy of an award for the late Heath Ledger

I fully expect more awards for Ledger, but this is the first I have seen presented on television, and though I knew it would be bittersweet, I never expected to respond so emotionally. Heath LedgerWhen his name was called in the nominations list for Supporting Actor Performance in a Motion Picture, there was a palpable silence in the ceremony hall and the faces on camera softened considerably. There was visible sadness in the eyes of the celebrities, which pierced my heart and brought a silence to my own thoughts. When the announcement was made of Ledger’s win, the audience rose to their feet in applause. This single act caught the emotion in my throat and brought tears to my eyes, and as The Dark Knight director, Christopher Nolan, accepted the award on behalf of Ledger, I could not contain those tears. I expected to be touched by this very situation, but I never expected to feel the same void that I felt while watching the actual performance in the summer film. Nolan’s brief speech said it best: “[We will] be able to look a bit less at that gap in the future and a little bit more at the incredible place in the history of cinema that he built for himself with his talent and with his dedication to his artistry.”

3. Colin Farrell takes home his first major Hollywood award

Colin Farrell at Golden Globes 2009Seeing my beloved, amazing Colin Farrell win an award for Best Performance in a Comedy was definitely the highlight of my night. This award is such icing for the past couple of years in which he has done some of his best (and my favorite) work, and it’s so fitting for him to receive it at this time in his life, having finally conquered the demons of substance abuse to find himself able to enjoy it properly. His speech was so full of gratitude and amazement and self-deprecation and his typical humor, and I was bursting with pride to be able to witness this moment as a long-standing, non-apologetic fan. That he won the award for his performance in that crazy violent comedy In Bruges just makes this the most perfect moment. I loved that performance. I was floored by that performance, for its layers upon layers and for his absolute courage to stretch and reach as an actor. I know of only one person who has seen In Bruges, and she completely hated it. Which makes it all the more dear to me. My initial response to the film was reactive, but all these months later I have come to view it in a sentimental light, and that is entirely to Farrell’s credit. Tonight’s award win made me feel very proud of him and for him, and I hope to see many more in his future.

4. I have seen almost every film featured in the montage for Steven Spielberg’s lifetime achievement award

Spielberg has long been my favorite director, and it was such a thrill to watch a montage of his work and realize I had been a fan for almost all of his career. There are very few films that were made before I was seeing movies, and Spielberg’s films have made the most impact on my love of film. Steven Spielberg at Golden Globes 2009He makes movies that I want to see, and he makes movies that change the type of films I want to see. In years past, when the Cecil B. DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award was presented, I rarely even recognized the honoree’s name much less his/her work. Perhaps that change is more about my own age than it is about filmmaking, but it was pure pleasure to relive all of my favorite moments in film with the man who brought them to life. It was so much fun to listen to him speak of his own influences and of those he has gone on to mentor himself. Suddenly, the film industry is being influenced by my own contemporaries (so to speak). And what joy to arrive at this place in my life, after being such a fan of movies for every year of that life. Spielberg and his contemporaries are the reason I continue to find greatness in film, and their work is the reason I continue to love movies and find joy in Hollywood.


And lastly, what is an awards show without a comment on red carpet fashion?

5. Drew Barrymore wore my favorite dress of the evening

Drew Barrymore at Golden Globes 2009This picture doesn’t really do the color of the dress any justice, but the details are visible. On camera, during the telecast, the look was ethereal. Even with the hairstyle (admittedly questionable), she looked like something out a fairy tale. And I was instantly captivated. It was Barrymore’s blue gown that made the impression on me tonight and was easily my favorite of the entire room. Only Colin Farrell’s fantastic tartan vest could draw my eye away. And in a room full of exquisite glamour, that’s truly saying something.


images from MSN and E! Online

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 12 January 2009, in What I Watch and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

