THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON

December 26, 2008, at AMC Stonebriar, Frisco, Texas

UPDATE 01.22.09 –> Nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor
(Brad Pitt), Best Supporting Actress (Taraji P. Henson), Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography plus 7 more categories

 

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

So much can be said about The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and yet so little could do it justice. The film is extraordinary, beautiful in every way, and simply the best movie I’ve seen all year. Brad Pitt deserves an Oscar for his performance as Benjamin, and Cate Blanchett is divine as Daisy, the love of his life. The experience of this film is emotional, spiritual, and I am hard-pressed to find one single fault.

From the cinematography to the physical depiction of Benjamin’s reverse aging, the film evokes a beauty not often seen in modern cinema. At the half-hour mark I knew I wanted to see it again and again, and by the end of its nearly three-hour running time I was still completely absorbed. Tears came to my eyes during the final hour and continued off and on for forty-five minutes, and the resolution of the film was supremely satisfying. Though I have been affected in this way by many movies in my lifetime, Benjamin Button is likely to become one of the most enduring experiences of moviegoing. Simply put, it is profound.

I will be rooting for Brad Pitt this year to receive the acclaim he so richly deserves, and I will never look at him in quite the same way again. Though I’ve been witness to his talent for many years, I was not always a fan. I do recognize the ability he displayed in the beginnings of his career, but only recently have I come to enjoy his quirky roles and appreciate his comedic streak. The characterization of Benjamin Button has redefined him in my eyes. I am astounded by his talent now, and I look forward to the depth of characters that will surely come his way in the future. Never again will I reduce him to “celebrity” and never again will I place his persona above his craft. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button has changed that landscape forever. And it is a film that affects the soul, forcing you to ponder life and love and choices and to appreciate each day for whatever it brings.

image from Internet Movie Database

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 26 December 2008, in What I Watch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. it was a little weird to see an old version of Brad Pitt’s face pasted onto a kid’s body, but i guess that’s why they call it a “curious case”

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

