Oscar Ritual 2008 : INTO THE WILD

DVD viewing

Nominated for Best Supporting Actor (Hal Holbrook)

Into the Wild

I’m unable to truly “review” Into the Wild and can barely offer any coherent thoughts at all, but I can say that this is a film that should be experienced — both as a moving tale of humanity and as a tragic tale of caution. I experienced the gamut of emotions during the 2-1/2 viewing hours, and so much remains caught at the base of my throat that I am unable to express any of it. But I am moved. I am awestruck and humbled before God, and emotion simply spills onto my cheeks even fifteen minutes after the close of the film. I am moved. I can only say that I, too, at the end of my life, want to express the same sentiment as Chris McCandless, whose story is depicted in the film:

I HAVE HAD A HAPPY LIFE AND THANK THE LORD.
GOODBYE AND MAY GOD BLESS ALL.

Whether I achieve all I dream of in this life or whether tragedy or stupidity takes me down too early, that is truly all I hope for. Into the Wild is a beautiful reminder of everything I must remember to hold dear on my pilgrimage toward heaven.

Into the Wild

images from Rotten Tomatoes

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 11 March 2008, in What I Watch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

