VANISHING ACTS by Jodi Picoult

Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 0743454553
Acquired:
Bookcrossing.com
Reading Began:
July 2, 2007
Completed:
July 11, 2007
Overall Rating:
seven out of ten

  This book is my introduction to Jodi Picoult, and it’s a fine choice for that! I thoroughly enjoyed the story, was engaged by the many characters, and simply could not put it down on some occasions as it was truly compelling. It’s not a perfect book, but it’s a very good one. The interesting thing is that I expected to be highly impressed with Picoult (people have been talking her up for months and months now), but I cannot seem to find any interest for her other novels. The only one that seems to draw me is her latest, Nineteen Minutes, and it’s very odd to me that I would enjoy an author’s work so much but not feel compelled to read many more. I think maybe it’s her choice of subject matter that keeps me at arm’s length. Regardless, Vanishing Acts is a great story with a mostly satisfying (if somewhat rushed) ending, and I will definitely recommend it to friends.

About Jules Q

sharing stories of life, faith, and love for pop culture

Posted on 11 July 2007, in What I Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Thoughts!

